Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 09:00 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I have sp1 rolled out to 87 computers now, no issues.
Desktops or laptops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
See the Resource Monitor button on your performance tab?

Click it and see what process is using up your memory.
As I said in an earlier post, as someone wanted me to take an image of the Process tab, I'll do it when it acts up again.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 09:14 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Mine was using 2.5gb of ram and the only major things running was Firefox and Messenger.

And there is NO way either of those things are using THAT much memory.

So either there is a memory leak or Windows is just caching a CRAP load more memory now.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 09:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

As you can see in my OP, I don't have anything running, and the stuff that I did have running which I thought may be the problem I closed down and still the RAM went up.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 10:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Mine was using 2.5gb of ram and the only major things running was Firefox and Messenger.

And there is NO way either of those things are using THAT much memory.

So either there is a memory leak or Windows is just caching a CRAP load more memory now.
I've had firefox take up tons of memory on me, sometimes it acts up and just kills your memory usage.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 10:55 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
I've had firefox take up tons of memory on me, sometimes it acts up and just kills your memory usage.
It was only upto 350mb of ram for Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 11:03 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

In TaskManager, you can either show or hide specific columns.
Show the ones related to memory and pinpoint the one(s) that's going nuts on you.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 11:24 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

I'm not a dumbass, I know about the columns!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 12:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlauzon View Post
I'm not a dumbass, I know about the columns!
This is the internet. We never know who we are answering to. It was a pleasure trying to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 12:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlauzon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick_brent View Post
Can you post a shot of your process tab also
I will when it does it again, at the moment it's using about 900MB of RAM.
Here you go:
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 12:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Here's a link to Process Explorer.
It breaks down some of the info you see in Task Manager. I found that program looking up SVCHOST since the multiple instances seem to take lots of memory on your system.
Process Explorer - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 SP1 Wurmer Troubleshooting 7 February 26, 2011 08:45 PM
[FS] Sold howpet Buy/Sell & Trade 36 February 25, 2011 03:45 PM
[WTB] Laptop memory DDR2 for very cheap/toss (2GB or over kits) oblisk Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 30, 2010 10:57 AM
Format of 3G Laptop memory? sswilson Mobile Computing 2 September 22, 2010 01:15 PM
Memory Card Reader for Laptop Gadgetman Member Reviews 0 February 12, 2009 09:24 AM