Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 05:49 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default BSOD When Playing Games

Hi,



First of all, my computer:
  • Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 rev 2.0
  • AMD Athlon II X3 440
  • Kingston ValueRam DDR3-1333 4x1GB
  • EVGA GTS 450 1GB
  • Western Digital Blue 500GB
  • Corsair CX500
Everything is running at stock. I encounter BSODs when playing games (Arkham Asylum/StarCraft 2/Sims 3), which are different each time. The computer works fine for internet browsing. I had this problem months ago and RMA-ed my motherboard. The computer worked fine for a little while, but then I started getting BSODs again. Here is what I've tried:
  • Replaced my video card, hard drive and power supply.
  • Formatted my hard drive and did a fresh install of Windows 7.
  • Updated all my drivers and have done Windows updates.
  • I still have my original RAM, but it has passed Memtest86+ for 3 passes.
I believe it's my motherboard again; I'm not sure what they actually fixed, if anything, the first time I RMA-ed. Here's a summary of my BSODs using BlueScreenView:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks!

EDIT - TEST RESULTS
  • OCCT - GPU: MEMTEST - 50 passes: test completed without errors
  • OCCT - GPU: OCCT - FAILED!
  • memtest86+ - 7 passes - 7 hrs 52 mins - 0 errors
  • Motherboard BIOS updated to F5a
  • Video card driver is at 266.58
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430

Last edited by slippy; March 9, 2011 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 06:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,219

My System Specs

Default

Is your mobo firmware updated? That can sometimes make a world of difference. Also, when you download your mobo firmware, download the file twice and use Md5Check to make sure the files are identical (i.e. you didn't get corrupted files).

If that doesn't help:

I hate suggesting the time consuming process of stress testing, but I will...

Get OCCT and run both GPU tests that it offers... you will want to run at least 50 memory passes and 1.5h of GPU testing (more if you have the time). Then, I'd suggest stress testing your memory (RAM) for at least 3 hours. Last, I'd stress the CPU with the prime 95 blend for at least 5 hours if you haven't already found a defective part.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 07:12 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

I used Gigabyte's @Bios software that automatically downloads and upgrades the BIOS. I just tried using it again and it said that I'm already at the current version.

Thanks, I'll look into those other tests.
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 07:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,219

My System Specs

Default

EEEK! Lol, just because you use @Bios doesn't mean much... @Bios is a flaky at best and may cause problems (even if your firmware updated properly)... Download like I suggested and use QFlash (really simple, just put the firmware files on a USB drive (note, you need to extract the firmware from the file you download off their website).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 07:43 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slippy View Post
I used Gigabyte's @Bios software that automatically downloads and upgrades the BIOS. I just tried using it again and it said that I'm already at the current version.

Thanks, I'll look into those other tests.
current F5a

read bios and follow instuctions

video drivers 266.58

ram timings 8-8-8-24 rated timings @ 1.50 volts

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 7, 2011 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 10:08 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Although your ram passes memory tests, it may still be flaky.
Try using 2 x 1GB sticks, if no change, try the other two.

Also what are you temperatures like?
I would suggest you run prime95, and furmark, to stress the cpu and video card.
While they are running, monitor the temperatures with hwmonitor by cpuid. Record the maximum temperatures they reach, and if they can run for two hours without freezing up.

Let me know how it goes after you do this
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 04:47 AM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

So I have tried various suggestions, and apparently it's looking like it's my video card and not my motherboard :o

I ran OCCT - GPU: OCCT test twice (once at default resolution and once at 1680 x 1050 - my resolution) and both times my computer restarted. I've started running StarCraft 2 at lower graphic settings and so far no crashes. I'll monitor my video card temp next time I try the test.
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: NDS lite package, PS3 games+accessories, PC games+accessories... 56k BEWARE snaggletooth Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 25, 2009 09:21 PM
Who's not playing F@H? badatcards Gaming 62 November 4, 2009 04:21 PM
BSOD When playing game....again..... Rocco_360 Troubleshooting 4 August 4, 2009 06:57 PM
Holiday 2008 Games: What will You be Playing? SKYMTL Gaming 40 November 27, 2008 12:19 PM
BSOD while playing COD4 3 times in a row zlojack Troubleshooting 31 January 21, 2008 11:38 PM