Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 02:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default GTX 560 Ti problems.

I just recently bought an eVGA 560 Ti Superclocked, and after installing it, I keep getting blue screen crashes because of nvlddmkm.sys. Now, everywhere I look online, I can't find a fix for it. I've reinstalled Windows 7, I even went as far as to install XP, but the problem still happens. I uninstalled the nvidia drivers and the problem goes away. Has anyone heard of/had this problem and knows how to fix it? I'm losing my mind here trying to figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 03:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Did you use something like Ccleaner to remove the drivers, or just do a standard uninstall?

How about third party vid apps? Do you have EVGA Precision / MSI Afterburner / Riva Tuner or any other vid app installed? I'd remove those as well (although it sounds like you've already tried a different OS so they probably don't apply).

What's the rest of your hardware? If it's not a physical incompatibility with your hardware, and you've already tried a fresh install of the OS, I'd try the card in a different PC and get it RMAd if the problem exists on the second PC.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 06:32 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

What's the details of the rest of the system, could be some conflictions (aka not enough power supplied)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 06:08 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

yes we definitly need to see a list of hardware in the computer. Also i would try both the driver version that came with the card as well as the latest version off of nvidia website. Also since it is the super clock edition i would also try underclocking it (if possible) to the stock settings and see if it's more stable. i have the E-VGA 560 TI FPB (non superclock) version and have no issues with it.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 07:44 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

To me this sounds exactly like a prob I had recently with a clients' machine. The 3v rail went on it, so as long as no drivers were installed no power was being used. The second the driver started it would get the same error as you and BSOD. It wasnt until I went into the bios that I had realized this problem. Replaced PSU and no issues.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 01:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry to dig this up after some time, but I like to have my threads have some closure as I hate searching the internet and finding incomplete threads :P

It turned out it was my PSU, it was alright in the tester, but I swapped it out and problem solved. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamdavidson View Post
Sorry to dig this up after some time, but I like to have my threads have some closure as I hate searching the internet and finding incomplete threads :P

It turned out it was my PSU, it was alright in the tester, but I swapped it out and problem solved. Thanks for your help.
Thanks a ton for returning with the outcome, I wish more folks would do likewise.

Great to hear that you got it resolved.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 06:38 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamdavidson View Post
Sorry to dig this up after some time, but I like to have my threads have some closure as I hate searching the internet and finding incomplete threads :P

It turned out it was my PSU, it was alright in the tester, but I swapped it out and problem solved. Thanks for your help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Thanks a ton for returning with the outcome, I wish more folks would do likewise.

Great to hear that you got it resolved.
Thanks,I am also glad you replied. Based on fudds feedback and your own, it could save someone a ton of troubleshooting time.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 11:21 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Default GTX 560 Ti problem

Can you be more specific about the psu issue? underpowered or malfunction??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 560 Ti OC cooler mchutch Video Cards 6 February 22, 2011 10:58 AM
Gtx 560 Ti vs Gtx 570 Hexofire Video Cards 7 February 21, 2011 11:07 AM
Rumor of GTX 570 and GTX 560 on its way vohiep84 Rumor Mill 15 November 20, 2010 07:43 AM