Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 07:44 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

If it is being seen as 25GB and not its correct size...yank it from that system and try it as a "D" drive in another rig. IF it is still seen as only 25GB, DL the OCZ Toolbox, do a secure erase and reformat it. IF it still is seen as only 25GB, see if the firmware is upto date (probably wont be as OCZ is FAST on firmware releases) and update it. Secure Erase it AGAIN, reformat it. IF its still seen as only 25gb...its a bad SSD. RMA it.

Hope that helps. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:03 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

@ akg...

after testing it out in even a second computer, it's not recognized by the bios in either. Windows doesn't even notice it's existence, so I can't format it, S.E. it, or do anything to it. On either system. The only reason I know it's reported as 25gb is because for some reason, it appears in the connected devices in bios, but nowhere else. I've tried achi mode, just for sh*ts and giggles even tried it on Sata/IDE modes; still nothin. After doing some research, it seems it's a pretty common occurrence, and I"m leaving it to it just being a defective drive and exchange it at the computer store I bought it at (or failing that, RMA it with OCZ).

Needless to say, my opinion of ocz products has just plummeted.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:08 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

If its not being seen by two systems...its a DOA SSD. It happens and can happen to any SSD mfg'er...just like a DOA hdd. NOW if the 2nd SSD comes back DOA...then you can hate on OCZ as that WOULD be odd (like most things, if you are not 100% sure in brand A...dont buy Brand A again as they could be the best in the world at Quality Control...and you still wont trust them. Peace of mind is priceless). :)

If its brand new and you got it from NCIX send it back to them and they will gladly replace it. :)

Damn sorry to hear that it happened to you, nothing worse than first SSD being a lemon to sour your POV on them. Hopefully the replacement is perfect.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:14 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I hope so too. I was skipping in my door today, like a kid in a candy store. I guess, only to realize that it wasn't candy, it was roofies. :/
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

So you just bought this? Is there an "E" in the product code? If so, you'll probably want to ask OCZ for a 32nm-based one instead of the 25nm-based drive. Better performance and lifetime I believe with 32nm flash.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:54 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

Yup, 32nm == 5K write durability and MORE chips for better performance

-E "new" model == 3K write durability and LESS chips for WORSE performance...and it will only show (IIRC for the "120GB" model) as 118GBs. Any way you slice it the -Es are not a good bargain.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 09:09 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I can't find the product code anywhere. All I can find are a PN and SN number on the sticker that has the barcode on the drive itself.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 09:19 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

Look at the part number on the SSD itslef. It should be (off the top of my head...might be slightly off on the naming scheme) "OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G" or "OCZSSD2-2VTX120G"...if its got an E in it....you are lucky that its DOA as you wont be hit with a restocking fee for sending it back!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 09:31 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

It's an 'E' drive, then...
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 09:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

round of applause!

make sure you get your mind on it when you dont swear at them, politely.

btw, both systems you tried it on are intel based right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow SSD read/write speeds OuTR Troubleshooting 10 July 28, 2010 06:33 AM
wow slow boot after ssd install Shadowmeph Storage 20 May 25, 2010 01:53 PM
Need help: Asus A8N-VM CSM won't Detect Video Card CMetaphor Troubleshooting 33 February 21, 2010 10:39 AM
SSD not beinf detect by anything. Z Overlord Storage 5 January 12, 2010 11:50 PM
W7 / Intel SSD - Slow Web Surfing - Posting rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 October 27, 2009 03:02 PM