Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 11:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default BSOD on Windows 7 Shutdown/Reboot

My system always blue screens on shutdown, I see the spinning circle, saying windows is shutting down, then it freezes for maybe 30 seconds, then the screen goes black, the power light will not turn to amber on the monitor and about 3 minutes later I get a nice BSOD, Startup on the other side of things takes only around 22 seconds with no strange issues. If I disable my video card in device manager shutdown is normal, so that would point to a driver issue but I've installed a few older video drivers for my GTX470 and they all have the same issue, and I've run driver sweeper and removed all traces of the drivers with the same issue.. help!
Here's a link to the picture I took.

__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 12:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

was gonna ask you to try a live cd and see if it crashes with that too..which would imply something funky goes
on in that time frame.

probably a hanging nv driver/service. go in services and disable the nv thingie there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 03:20 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I would maybe look in the Event viewer to see if it shows anything , have you installed or uninstalled anything lately? maybe even just download ccleaner and run it to clean out the registry errors because sometimes those pesky things can do this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 06:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

How about your chipset drivers? I've had issues back in the AGP days where bad chipset drivers caused the GPU driver to act funky on Windows Vista. It's worth a shot to update those too (from motherboard web page) if trying a whole bunch of GPU drivers failed.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 08:34 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

if it made a crash dump file can you post it. I could run it through the MS debugging tools might shed some more light on what is causing the error. Also i recently on my new build was having trouble with BSOD's on reboot/startup it turned out to be a usb lcd module with unsupported drivers loaded.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 10:23 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

yeah, here's the dump file...
Attached Files
File Type: rar 030111-11622-01.rar (119.9 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 11:04 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

thanks i will take a look tonight and let you know what i find.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 11:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 AMD64
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\030111-11622-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

DbsSplayTreeRangeMap::Add: ignoring zero-sized range at ?fffff800`00b9c500?
Symbol search path is: SRV*C:\Symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
Executable search path is:
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (4 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7600.16695.amd64fre.win7_gdr.101026-1503
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`03853000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`03a90e50
Debug session time: Tue Mar 1 14:14:50.986 2011 (UTC - 4:30)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:17:05.923
Loading Kernel Symbols
.................................................. .............
.................................................. ..............
.................................................. ..
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
.......................
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 9F, {3, fffffa80074f5a20, fffff80000b9c518, fffffa80099dbe10}

Probably caused by : pci.sys

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

0: kd> !analyze -v
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE (9f)
A driver is causing an inconsistent power state.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000003, A device object has been blocking an Irp for too long a time
Arg2: fffffa80074f5a20, Physical Device Object of the stack
Arg3: fffff80000b9c518, Functional Device Object of the stack
Arg4: fffffa80099dbe10, The blocked IRP

Debugging Details:
------------------


DRVPOWERSTATE_SUBCODE: 3

IMAGE_NAME: pci.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4a5bc117

MODULE_NAME: pci

FAULTING_MODULE: fffff88001158000 pci

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x9F

PROCESS_NAME: System

CURRENT_IRQL: 2

STACK_TEXT:
fffff800`00b9c4c8 fffff800`03932273 : 00000000`0000009f 00000000`00000003 fffffa80`074f5a20 fffff800`00b9c518 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff800`00b9c4d0 fffff800`038cf29e : fffff800`00b9c618 fffff800`00b9c618 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x292b0
fffff800`00b9c570 fffff800`038cedd6 : fffff800`03a73700 00000000`000100e3 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiProcessTimerDpcTable+0x66
fffff800`00b9c5e0 fffff800`038cf4be : 00000002`637f84bc fffff800`00b9cc58 00000000`000100e3 fffff800`03a41ee8 : nt!KiProcessExpiredTimerList+0xc6
fffff800`00b9cc30 fffff800`038cecb7 : 00000000`efbf2ac2 00000000`000100e3 00000000`efbf2a02 00000000`000000e3 : nt!KiTimerExpiration+0x1be
fffff800`00b9ccd0 fffff800`038cbeea : fffff800`03a3de80 fffff800`03a4bc40 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`00000000 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x277
fffff800`00b9cd80 00000000`00000000 : fffff800`00b9d000 fffff800`00b97000 fffff800`00b9cd40 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiIdleLoop+0x5a


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x9F_3_nvlddmkm_IMAGE_pci.sys

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x9F_3_nvlddmkm_IMAGE_pci.sys

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 12:02 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

a google search lists that as a part of a beta driver package from nvidia. Maybe try another version of the drivers you have loaded for nvidia ?
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 01:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

I've tried many driver combo's same issue, I have a dual boot setup with vista, and that partition boots and shutdowns properly, and I can play games with no issues at all. I've also had mac osx 10.65 running on my pc as well, and again no issues, just an issue with windows 7.
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] BSOD at Windows Vista Startup iv:xx Troubleshooting 5 February 28, 2011 08:59 AM
BSOD During Windows Setup Nevakonaza CPU's and Motherboards 17 November 8, 2010 02:31 PM
BSOD's in windows 7 on idle Polygon Troubleshooting 15 April 8, 2010 04:37 PM
not sure if this is my mb or a windows 7 thing but I get BSOD Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 August 10, 2009 11:46 AM
HELP! Windows won't load, BSOD! donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 December 11, 2007 07:35 PM