Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 12:08 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default BSOD while playing COD4 3 times in a row

I have been playing, overclocking and pretty much doing everything with my machine fine since I built it in early December.

But tonight I keep getting the blue screen and this message:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 109
BCP1: A3A039D899BED576
BCP2: B3B7465EEC3B83E8
BCP3: FFFFF80002E140EF
BCP4: 0000000000000001
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini011708-01.dmp
C:\Users\Jack\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-40170-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Jack\AppData\Local\Temp\WERAB8A.tmp.versi on.txt

I was running my usual overclock of 3.6 GHz at 1.46v RAM at 2.2 v 1066 FSB of 400 (9 multiplier)
System is in the sig.

I am running COD4 and TeamSpeak. I have been experimenting with lower voltages on the RAM, so I thought it was that as I had got it down to 2.1 v. But even after bumping it back up to 2.2, it still gives me the BSOD.

Any help/insight would be great!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 07:13 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Any new drivers installed lately?
CPU / NB temps?
Unstable rig lately?
What programs did you use to test stability?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 07:51 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Did you try just clocking down a bit? That's quite a high 24/7 OC- perhaps a little silicon migration
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 08:17 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Kept getting similar problems with the Catalyst 7.12 drivers for my HD3870... Obviously, this isn't your problem (running an nVidia card) but I think the game has serious issues and requires patches.

I wouldn't stress too much thinking your hardware is failing if I was you.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 09:15 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Any new drivers installed lately?
CPU / NB temps?
Unstable rig lately?
What programs did you use to test stability?
CPU runs around 38-43 idle and 60-65 load.

Well, it has been pretty stable and I had no problems recently. I am always fiddling with the settings in the bios, but I keep a stable profile backed up that has worked.

I tested with OCCT and it was great for 6 hours (this was a while back).
I suppose I should get Everest and Memtest going as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Did you try just clocking down a bit? That's quite a high 24/7 OC- perhaps a little silicon migration
I am thinking I'll have to downclock it a bit. Maybe 400x8 instead of 400x9

3.2 is still a decent oc for that processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
Kept getting similar problems with the Catalyst 7.12 drivers for my HD3870... Obviously, this isn't your problem (running an nVidia card) but I think the game has serious issues and requires patches.

I wouldn't stress too much thinking your hardware is failing if I was you.
Well, the thing is, I ran OCCT and it crashes before 2 hours, so something isn't stable.


I will probably start re-testing with everything at stock.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 09:54 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

2 hours test is the strict minimum using OCCT. Time to re-start testing!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 10:10 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Well, the thing is, I ran OCCT and it crashes before 2 hours, so something isn't stable.

I will probably start re-testing with everything at stock.
Hmm, did the instability start when you added your second 4gig kit? Chances are, even if you set the vdimm to 2.2, with 8gigs of ram, the board might be undervolting the ram.

You could try gaming with upped vdimm or with 4gigs of ram instead of 8 to test stability.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 10:16 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
Hmm, did the instability start when you added your second 4gig kit? Chances are, even if you set the vdimm to 2.2, with 8gigs of ram, the board might be undervolting the ram.

You could try gaming with upped vdimm or with 4gigs of ram instead of 8 to test stability.
Funny you should mention that, as that's precisely what I intend to do.

Although from what I've read, the Maximus Formula actually overvolts by about 0.1 v.

I have had the 8GB kit in all along, so it's not a new thing.

Since I don't seem to be using the full 8GB as much as I thought, I am thinking about selling one of the kits and just going with 2x2GB, or selling both and going 4x1GB.

I was about to post a thread about that in the RAM sub-forum.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 01:50 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Crazy question: What video drivers are you using?

When I first installed FW169.25, I suddenly found that the 700 core clock on my card was consistently crashing COD4 within 5 minutes of playing. Lowered it to 685, never had another problem. It was a little strange, and I didn't investigate it in-depth, but you never know...
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 02:32 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Hmm... well I haven't updated the drivers recently.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do your video cards temp while just playing singleplayer COD4..... ? Canadianguy Gaming 12 March 9, 2008 11:38 AM
Read Times Question Raptor vs Caviar CasheKicker Storage 10 February 23, 2008 11:53 AM
BSOD with 4gbs of Ram vintank RAM 14 February 2, 2008 01:20 AM
BSOD from iTunes? :| curtispan Troubleshooting 3 January 5, 2008 04:23 AM
Benchmark run-times Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 November 2, 2007 09:48 PM