Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 04:53 AM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default Windows 7 SP1

Ok this is weird folks! Yesterday I have updated my windows 7 setup with the SP1 after ward, my computer simply refuses to start. It does boot the BIOS screen, I can hear the normal Beep, I see my hardware listed than I see the BIOS screen again than black screen with the flashing prompt and that's it. This is the first time I see something like this over many many many windows updated.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 04:55 AM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

check your boot devices or even you hard drive boot priority and see if your main drive got bumped
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 05:17 AM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Well finally, I got it fixed. I used the Windows 7 DvD and the repair fonction. Now everything seems to be working fine but still this is weird. I have never experienced something like this before.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 05:56 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,844
Default

M$ looking after pirates, gotta have orginale install disk and genuine key to get updates otherwise black screen
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 06:38 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

Sounds more like there was a Windows update for a device driver that made it screw up.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 07:49 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
M$ looking after pirates, gotta have original install disk and genuine key to get updates otherwise black screen
I kind of doubt that seeing as I have put it on multiple machines at work that I had not even put in our key into yet. So it goes on fine without even having a key entered.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 10:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

like i said before, wait a bit for the waves of 'omg its not working!!!' to come about

glad you got it going. how long did the repair take? usually i get bored and do a fresh install
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 07:45 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

it only took a few minutes, that was really quick BTW, I have the original genuine none OEM Key for my windows 7. So like someone said, must have been a driver issue or some such.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Release date for Windows 7 SP1 ipaine Press Releases & Tech News 6 February 12, 2011 06:54 AM
Windows Vista Black-Eternity 2009 SP1 x64 Apathetik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 5, 2009 04:36 PM
Windows xp sp1 doesn't notice dual cores. andynerd Troubleshooting 9 December 28, 2008 08:03 AM
SP1 is a yawner Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 17 February 20, 2008 04:45 PM
Vista SP1 a35599 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 5, 2008 07:05 PM