Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2011, 07:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Default

Well, I've checked available updates with MSI, and found the Via chipset had a driver update for it. I also went back into the BIOS under power management and reset the defaults of this menu. So, one shut down seems to have gone normally so far.

What trouble it gave me is corrupted sectors on my hard drive. I had suspected the drive to be faulty, but Seagate has an excellent tool called Seatools (also mentionned in the pined troubleshooting guide of this forum, an excellent source of info). So I used the boot CD version to do diagnose the HDD under DOS, and the software fixed it flawlessly. No permanent damage.

So that's the biggest consequence so far of this hard stop: corrupt disk sectors, which can affect some programs or data. No loss; I count my blessings.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 945
Asus M4A87TD EVO
Sapphire HD4860 1GB (a handicaped 4890)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 @1600 MHz
WD Caviar Green 500GB
Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2011, 03:35 PM
Grampa's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 185

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Have you worked within your PC recently at all? To see it sounds like your power button is actually causing a short. Listen closely to the system/power supply when you press the button to see if you hear a little electrical "zap" noise also when this happens.

Oh... and let us know what you find
This was my thinking as well.
Could be a problem with connector/wiring.

Could always reach in with a screw driver and short the pins yourself to see if it has the same effect.

edit: Dan beat me to it. lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
one,going by the above, might indeed be tempted to short them pins himself and see if the effect is the same? :)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2011, 08:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa View Post
This was my thinking as well.
Could be a problem with connector/wiring.

Could always reach in with a screw driver and short the pins yourself to see if it has the same effect.

edit: Dan beat me to it. lol
Kinda thought that as a possibility too. The mobo's indications on hooking up are less than optimal nor clear, not to mention how hard it is to get your fingers in the case in that area, never mind seeing properly.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 945
Asus M4A87TD EVO
Sapphire HD4860 1GB (a handicaped 4890)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 @1600 MHz
WD Caviar Green 500GB
Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Button Doesn't Work, but Power Button on Motherboard Does! Stock Troubleshooting 4 June 25, 2010 07:53 AM
New hard drive buzzing in my case? 0o0 Storage 1 May 11, 2010 12:14 PM
computer without a case power button matsta31 CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 20, 2010 01:19 PM
Asus P6T power up with button on case Tiger CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 23, 2009 08:17 AM