Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default USB causes shutdown

I've got a pretty random problem with the USB jacks on the front of my PC case (Fractal Design Refine). Sometimes when I plug something in, the computer immediately restarts. There is no BSOD or freeze, just goes to the post screen immediately.

I'm wondering if this is more likely to be an issue with the wiring in the case or more likely a motherboard problem? All the connections inside are made properly and I don't see anything that would cause an issue. The problem doesn't happen all the time, and I can't narrow down exactly when it will happen.

Any insight would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:27 PM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

It sounds like a short somewhere or bad cable. Was it working previously?
What motherboard?

What happens when you plug a USB stick or other device cable to the back USB connectors - does it work?

------
USB ports are hot plugged, but AFAIK, not the case cables you plug into the motherboard USB headers.

Presuming you have 2 cables from the M/B to the case front - turn the computer off:
Disconnect one of the case USB cables from the motherboard - turn on computer, test both USB front ports to see if one of them works.
Turn off again, disconnect one, reconnect the other, turn on and test.

Computer off: try switching the USB case cables on the M/B if more than one, turn back on and see if that fixes one or both of the USB front ports.

That's probably what I'd do to troubleshoot it, but I'm not all that familiar with the motherboard USB headers, so you might want to wait for someone more experienced.

Last edited by LaughingCrow; February 13, 2011 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:37 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a short to me as well. Check the cable going from the port to your motherboard for any cuts or nicks that expose wire. That's what I'd do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 02:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

I examined the cables carefully and everything looks good. I swapped the front USB cable connector to another one on my motherboard though. We'll see if that solves the problem.

I am having some other odd problems. 1 is that the power switch doesn't work anymore. I can't turn on the PC without using the power button physically on the motherboard. Also, sometimes the computer won't awake from sleep and I'll have to turn off the power supply itself to come back on.

I did get this motherboard awhile ago and it was refurbished and listed at 'Not Found Faulty' so I'm starting to question if it was returned because of these reasons. They're very hard to duplicate and might not be apparent during RMA testing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 02:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 160
Default

Maybe it's the cable connections to the front panel? It sounds silly but have you checked the front panel as well, where the wires connect to the ports and switches? It sounds very much like there's a short there or some sort of other damage.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

I've pulled apart the front part of the case and examined all the cables closely. All the pins seem good, no wire damage, pulled out the power switch and it looks good. I'm at a loss here. Damn computer gremlins.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:04 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

If you have made sure that it's not physically a problem on the front panel/cables itself, next place I'd check would be the headers and more specifically the area around them. (Front and back) Since you say the power botton doesn't work either, there's a chance of motherboard problems as well, especially since you say it's a refurb.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

How dry is the place your in?
Carpet?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 04:34 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P manual usb pinout. just have a multimeter to verify connections

on case socket to MB usb header.

note: power(5v) = vcc
and check only cable end (MB header plug) to socket with diode check setting on meter(zero means 100% connected some meters beep)
Attached Images
   

Last edited by KaptCrunch; February 14, 2011 at 07:38 AM. Reason: corrected usb socket keys
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 04:36 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Fractal cable isues on R2

YouTube - Fractal Design Front USB Wiring Repair Video for NCIX Customers Linus Tech Tips

they shoulent work if this is the isue. check the cable to make sure pin out is right or a new cable maybe.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS + auto shutdown stoanee Power Supplies 13 November 4, 2010 06:29 PM
Shutdown Timer I Made sandeep O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 August 19, 2010 03:55 PM
server AND pc stick on shutdown rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 1, 2009 08:21 PM
Shutdown after inactivity jnliten Troubleshooting 7 May 14, 2008 08:12 PM
New Rig won't shutdown Carob99 Troubleshooting 4 January 24, 2008 05:07 AM