Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 02:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I got it working now, all i did was clear cmos and change the monitor. And thankfully the ssd is working too :). But now i have another problems: Windows doesnt seem to detect my 1 tb WD Caviar Black, but it was detected during installation and its detected on the marvell controller during startup. I probably have to change a setting or something, anyone care to point me in the right direction? :)

Thank you all for helping me with my very first computer build
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 139
Default

Glad to hear you're up and running =). Checklists seem silly, but more often than not they solve problems we may have overlooked.

Can you be more specific about your hard drive? Do you mean it's not showing up in Windows Explorer, or that it's not showing at all as in the Computer Management Console and not under the Device Manager?

Try going to your Computer Management Console, easiest way is to click on the Windows Key + R at the same time, then from the Run dialog type in "Compmgmt.msc", under the tree on the right side and under Storage click on Disk Management, from there it should list the hard drives connected, note it may take some time to load up. See if the WD 1TB shows up there, if it does, try right-clicking and initializing it, creating a partition, formatting, and assigning a drive letter. It may be that simple.

If the drive doesn't show up under compmgmt.msc then try going to the Hardware Device Manager, quickets way is Windows Key + R for the run dialog then type in "Devmgmt.msc" and hit enter. From here expand the "Disk Drives" node of the tree, if you see the hard drive under there, right-click it and uninstall it, then do a refresh and detect hardware devices and see if it detects the drive and shows it. If this doesn't work try expanding the IDE ATA/ATAPI or SATA node and uninstalling the controllers one by one while doing a refresh each time to see if the drive is detected.

If that still doesn't work you might look at your BIOS settings and make sure the drive controllers are enabled, e.g. SATA controllers enabled (they may be multiple controllers make sure to get them all), the correct mode is set AHCI/IDE/RAID, etc.

Last edited by proxy; February 13, 2011 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 03:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, i will try that when i have time :D
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 07:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by proxy View Post
Try going to your Computer Management Console, easiest way is to click on the Windows Key + R at the same time, then from the Run dialog type in "Compmgmt.msc", under the tree on the right side and under Storage click on Disk Management, from there it should list the hard drives connected, note it may take some time to load up. See if the WD 1TB shows up there, if it does, try right-clicking and initializing it, creating a partition, formatting, and assigning a drive letter. It may be that simple.
Everything is working perfecly now Again, thank you so much for your help guys :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New computer doesnt boot, need help! Ironmonk Troubleshooting 5 October 21, 2010 04:06 AM
new build won't boot up! help. dbear Troubleshooting 6 July 10, 2010 04:59 PM
New Build, psu doesnt provide long enough cables! element291 Troubleshooting 3 January 13, 2009 03:13 PM
my tread doesnt update? thatguy Off Topic 4 April 20, 2008 06:33 PM