Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 01:29 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default Laptop display 'fitting' on TV

I'm using my laptop to connect to my 42" Panasonic Plasma Viera and I can't figure out how to get the desktop to fit correctly, it's either a little too small or 'bleeding' outside the edges of the screen.

When I connect my laptop to my 20" LCD Monitor it does the same thing but I was able to use settings on the Monitor itself to fit the display correctly...why can I not find this on my TV? Friend has same issue with Sony 46" LCD, too small or too big.

Any help appreciated !

Edit: Figured out my Plasma (Projector + HD Size #2)

Will need some 'hands on' time to play with friends Sony.

Last edited by The Quicken; February 5, 2011 at 02:47 AM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 06:59 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

If you are connecting them via hdmi cable from your computer you are suffering from the fact that TV resolutions are not the same as computer resolutions. They are either being overscanned or underscanned. You can fix this either on the pc side (if i know which graphics card company you're with we can tell you the steps) or you can go into the tv settings and change the input/resolution to a just scan setting most newer tvs have.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 08:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

does overscan and underscan exist with digital televisions?


I would have assumed it was just an AR issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 05:24 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
If you are connecting them via hdmi cable from your computer you are suffering from the fact that TV resolutions are not the same as computer resolutions. They are either being overscanned or underscanned. You can fix this either on the pc side (if i know which graphics card company you're with we can tell you the steps) or you can go into the tv settings and change the input/resolution to a just scan setting most newer tvs have.
My laptop = HP G62 Series AMD (problem solved)

Friends Laptops = HP G62 Intel I5 Series

I know how to apply Primary & Secondary Monitor Preferences & apply optimal resolution for Primary Monitor-- I'm having difficulty on the TV (not mine) fitting correctly. 46" Sony Bravia LCD

And yes, all connections are via HDMI

Last edited by The Quicken; February 5, 2011 at 05:26 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 05:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Simplest would be to change your TV settings. I believe it's called Full Pixel on Sony TVs. That's how both my 40" and 46" Sony's are setup and it works fine with any PC over HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 07:42 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Simplest would be to change your TV settings. I believe it's called Full Pixel on Sony TVs. That's how both my 40" and 46" Sony's are setup and it works fine with any PC over HDMI.
I believe I saw the Full Pixel option on the TV, but I was not able to select it--in all honesty I did not spend a great deal of time exploring every option, I was setting up multiple devices up for them at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 05:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

check firmware on the sony TV is up todate
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 07:44 PM
Fitting/pump Help homer98 Water Cooling 20 December 2, 2010 08:23 PM
90 degree fitting Phobia Water Cooling 7 September 19, 2009 07:51 PM
laptop display issues odis172 Troubleshooting 2 July 16, 2009 05:36 PM
[WTB] 3/8" T-fitting Cowboy Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 17, 2009 10:31 AM