Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 07:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default gpu voltage tweaking..

I have a sapphire 6850 toxic. (820 core & 1100 memory & voltage 1.175)

My main usage are movies, songs etc.. & not that much gaming. The gpu voltage is set to 1.175. I wanted to know, is this setting higher than usual and what is the usual default voltage settings for non-overclocked products?
If it is considerably higher, i want to lower the voltage settings as i have my pc running 24/7 and i think it would consume more power if the voltage setting is higher than usual (correct me if i m wrong).
I hav sapphire trixx installed & it provides voltage settings feature, so can i just lower the voltage value OR i have to change the memory & core clock along with it? & to which value, should i set the settings to?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 07:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kitchener/Stoney Creek
Posts: 43
Default

doesnt your video card downclock in 2d applications? it should only run its full frequency's when you are in 3d applications. i know for my video cards, when im idle the voltage is lower then when i open a game
__________________
Main|Xeon w3520 #3845a @ 4.2ghz|Rampage III Extreme|2x6950 unlocked CFX|3x2GB Corsair Dom GT 2000|Intel x25-m 160GB|Obsidian 700D
Weekend|i7 920 #3910a @ 4.2ghz|X58A-UD7 Rev 1|2xEVGA GTX 460 2GB SLI|3x2GB Mushkin Blackline 1600|Corsair F120|Raven RV01
AMD HTPC/Game Cube|Phenom II x4 940 BE|Biostar A780L mATX|XFX 6790|2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 800|WD Black 640GB|APEVIA X-QPACK2 (red)
Racing Sim|Playseat Evo|Fanatec GT3RS v2| 55" Samsung Plasma
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 08:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

yes it does.
But even if i dont start a 3d app, it often jumps to full freq. (even if i do some very basic works)
plus i think, in higher voltage settings- the gpu tends to eat more power easily (like for the same workload), not sure though.

anyway, i need to know these facts..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 07:01 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

gon_freecs
The voltage you are seeing 1.175 is the stock voltage for your card. The voltage should change from light use/2d work and heavy 3d work like gaming or rendering apps.
Download gpuz , install, start then go to sensors tab. Check mark the boxes at the bottom, this will allow you to log your voltages while you use your video card.
Surf the net for a couple minutes then fire up a movie for a couple of minutes, then stop GPUZ.
Have a look at your file and it should show you your stock voltages in idle/2d /3d modes.
Dont forget to go back to gpu-z and uncheck both boxes (you dont want to make huge files of gpu voltages)

These are examples showing a Sapphire HD5970 at idle then full load. As you can see the voltages do not change very much but the power used while working changes substantially. The card should reduce its own power consumption from working load to idle, if it doesnt then it has hardware issues and should be returned.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does raising GPU voltage help with artifacting? bushwickbill Video Cards 5 March 2, 2010 10:38 AM
EVGA Releases Precision 1.8.1 and GPU Voltage Tuner 1.1.2.2 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 October 8, 2009 03:45 AM
EVGA GPU Voltage Tuner released burebista Video Cards 10 February 9, 2009 03:05 PM
OC Tweaking Spreadsheet misterlarry Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 September 3, 2008 04:44 PM