Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default Having problems...(Bsod)

I've been getting various Blue screens for awhile now...most of them are caused by a crash in ntoskrnl.exe but all have a different bug check string...


011511-19562-01.dmp 1/15/2011 9:28:44 PM IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x0000000a fffff8ff`ffffffe0 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 fffff800`02ad0349 Unknown_Module_00000000`00000000 x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\011511-19562-01.dmp 4 15 7600 262,144

011511-14804-01.dmp 1/15/2011 6:08:05 PM PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA 0x00000050 fffff8a8`03be5e38 00000000`00000000 fffff880`04f78d78 00000000`00000005 hal.dll hal.dll+7ae7 x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\011511-14804-01.dmp 4 15 7600 280,328


011411-16473-01.dmp 1/14/2011 5:20:08 PM MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00005003 fffff700`01080000 00000000`000083bd 000083bf`0001877a ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+70740 NT Kernel & System Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Microsoft Corporation 6.1.7600.16617 (win7_gdr.100618-1621) x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\011411-16473-01.dmp 4 15 7600 262,144


011411-23961-01.dmp 1/14/2011 5:02:51 PM POOL_CORRUPTION_IN_FILE_AREA 0x000000de 00000000`00000002 fffff8a0`0897c908 fffff8a0`08974909 00000000`152b28c0 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+70740 NT Kernel & System Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Microsoft Corporation 6.1.7600.16617 (win7_gdr.100618-1621) x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\011411-23961-01.dmp 4 15 7600 276,016

I've replaced my graphics card, power supply, reinstalled windows, made sure ventilation of my system is great, even changed voltages in my ram on my bios...still not sure of what the problem could possibly be. I used memtest86x and it found no problems with either stick...I tried taking one stick out putting one stick in, still crashes...here are my system specs:

HP DVD Writer 1160d ATA Device
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Corsair 850W PS
Dell 2407WFP-HC (Analog)(monitor)
AMD Radeon HD 6870
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
ASUS Crosshair Formula III
G.SKILL Trident 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

I'm thinking it's the ram, since it isn't on the list of approved vendors for Asus, but I'm not sure...any help is appreciated, thanks.

Last edited by Dnabb10; January 16, 2011 at 09:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

As much as I love G.Skill RAM, I've heard of a few stories of incompatibility with AMD boards. I would contact Asus and G.Skill to see if they know anything about it.
Approved memory lists usually aren't a good source of knowing what's compatible and what isn't. Companies don't have the time and money to test everything.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Ahh okay, thanks....it's been awful...would you happen to know any good brands of ram for an AMD mobo?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Any company could potentially have AMD compatiblity issues tbh. I haven't heard anything about Corsair though. Most companies don't even bother testing for compatibility with AMD IMC's these days.

If it does turn out to be memory incompatibility I would probably go for a set meant for AM3. I know G.Skill has a Flare series that's meant for AMD boards only.

Looking back at those stop codes, my first reaction was RAM, but it could be the motherboard/HDD as well, since you did pass memtest.
Is that the Sata3 6gb/s version of the WD Black? I had an issue with that drive and Windows 7 not too long ago. (but that was due to Windows not liking Intel drivers)

I would send a copy of those logs to Asus to see if they can help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 02:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks...and uhm I'll check the version...it's the 3gb/s version...and I'll try with Asus...hopefully they'll be able to do something.

Edit: Oh and I tried my Seagate drive awhile ago...and that also bluescreened so I don't think it's the HDD.

Last edited by Dnabb10; January 16, 2011 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 09:42 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,966
Default

check you audio drivers are up to date
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 07:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Yep, they are. Made sure to go to the Asus website to update my SoundFXI drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 08:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Ram or Motherbaord... Take your pick. I am running Kingston Ram in My AMD's without Issue. I had a bad piece of Ram I ordered online a few months ago that would cause the blue screen. That being said I cooked a mother board when over clocking on another one of my machines. You can see the black carbon mark on the board and it smelt like a burning candle. The machine still works as long as you dont push it too hard but it used to get blue screens when it decided enough was enough. (i say used to because it is on ubuntu now)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 08:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Gah...not sure what it is...just got another bluescreen...hopefully it's not the motherboard, but so far I've had nothing but trouble with Asus...shitty support.


011711-15943-01.dmp 1/17/2011 10:22:58 AM 0x00000113 00000000`00000004 fffffa80`06913840 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\011711-15943-01.dmp 4 15 7600 262,144

it had said on the bluescreen that the dxgkrnl encountered a fatal error, but in bluescreenview it has something to do with the ntoskrnl.exe

Edit: here's the bug check just for ntoskrnl.exe

ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+7e24a fffff800`02a4b000 fffff800`03027000 0x005dc000 0x4c1c44a9 6/18/2010 11:16:41 PM Microsoft® Windows® Operating System NT Kernel & System 6.1.7600.16617 (win7_gdr.100618-1621) Microsoft Corporation C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 08:50 AM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 393
Default

Are you using the most recent version of Memtest? memtest+ 4.10

I was having a lot of random BSODs from a bad memory stick. The bad memory (and probably crashes) corrupted a lot of Windows files which just compounded the problem. In the end, I re-installed Windows 7 to be certain.

Have you run CHKDSK? I've known CHKDSK to make things worse when it can't fix a problem, but I don't know an alternative:
How to Use Check Disk in Windows Vista — MAXIMUMpcguides – Windows Vista tips, tricks, help, and how-to guides

Or sfc.exe /scannow (System File Checker) How To Use SFC /Scannow To Repair Corrupted Windows System Files - TECHRENA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD Dar_ell Troubleshooting 2 August 12, 2010 01:51 PM
BSOD!!! HELP!!!!! t_mo_t Troubleshooting 9 March 31, 2010 01:14 PM
BSOD and Heat Problems on i7 920 Rocco_360 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 January 5, 2010 08:56 PM
Getting BSOD's like a ***** Kayen Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2009 01:07 AM
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 07:23 PM