Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 08:47 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default Moms friends computer doesn't work

My moms friend is going to be dropping off his old PC here in a few days he says now I don't know what to do honestly, he tells me this story "His son was gaming on it and the power went out and it never would power up again" He also keeps telling me about how his motherboard is top of the line in this machine and cost him over $1200 so he knows he's got a DAMN good pc and no ones going to tell him different...he says his graphic card as well is in the thousands series which is one of the best they would ever be able to make (this is what he tells my mom all the time and she believes him even though I tell her that there always building new graphic cards and there always improving if not dramaticly, slightly they are but I don't think she buy's this) So I don't really know what to do, would anyone have or like to take a shot at what could be wrong? I'm thinking off the bat the psu is bad but I think his pc is worth throwing out to be honest...I mean come on this guy was trying to impress my mom by telling her about how vista was such an upgrade from XP and that windows 7 blows both of them away and how windows 2k was a wolf in sheep yada yada...and anyone who knows me knows I am a XP fanboy (Still using it today woot woot!) and he honestly is just trying to impress my mom So if and when I see it I'll post up what the pc looks like and we can see whats wrong with it or try to find out whats bad :(
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 08:54 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

First thought? PSU for sure. But you'll find that out quickly for yourself. If you press the power button and nothing at all happens, the PSU is most likely dead. Try with another one and Only power up the board (so 24-pin and 4/8-pin) to see if it can post, then add other components back one at a time afterwards.

And then you can tell your friend that his "amazing" pc needs a surge protect powerbar, lol.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 09:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

get back to us when you get it, i spent 2 hours on the phone with a bud once, and then 15 minutes in the car to get there and fix it in 5...:)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 10:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

For working on such a special system, you'll probably need to charge a special rate... ;-)
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 11:55 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,142

My System Specs

Default

BC Beer
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 08:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 172

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCV44.2223 View Post
For working on such a special system, you'll probably need to charge a special rate... ;-)
I was going to say I'd never assist someone who is so blantantly ignorant, arrogant and downright annoying, but I like this alternative option much better

Without knowing ANYTHING except "It won't turn on again", it could be the PSU.. or mobo. CMMetaphor has you on the right track!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 08:12 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yup my first guess is psu then look too the MB. had a guys machine do it last week booted once then never booted again MB went but it's also like 10 years old
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 09:33 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

It won't turn on again doesn't tell much. Could just need a cmos reset. PSU is the most likely culprit and if that went then some other parts could be damaged as well.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 10:45 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

to me it sounds like the board, if the PSU isn't powering up then you can sort of test the PSU by unplugging it from the mb and then jumping it to see if the psu fires up. kind of funny that someone would spend all of that money and not have decent protection from power surges hehe

Oh and just incase you are not sure how to Jump the PSU this is what I do ,I unplug the PSU from where ever it is pluged into then unplug it from the Motherboard, I then take a paper clip ( or wire will work also) and then push one side of the Paper clip into the green wire slot and the other side of the paper clip into any black wire slot . I then plug the PSU bake into the power bar or wall . this should power up the PSU.

Last edited by Shadowmeph; January 15, 2011 at 10:51 AM. Reason: forgot to eplain how to jump psu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer doesn't sleep BrianHanna Troubleshooting 11 November 19, 2010 02:04 PM
My friends computer is making a beeping noise. andynerd Troubleshooting 10 July 30, 2010 05:32 AM
Xbox 360 controller doesn't work in Full Speed Troubleshooting 3 May 22, 2010 08:40 PM
"Your CPU fan doesn't work properly. You must turn off your system right now and chec _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 March 15, 2010 03:38 PM
Friends Computer Crashing Randomly AmuseMe Troubleshooting 3 November 29, 2009 06:14 PM