Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Question HDMI gives fuzzy text

Hi been looking at your site for months and was a great resource in my first build.
When I attach a VGA via adapter to the video card, my Window 7 64 Bit control panel sets at 1920 x 1020 and look perfect. Using the HDMI cable, at first the image had a boundary, I fixed that easily using Catalyst, but the text is fuzzy, if I look at a webpage the text is fuzzy but the graphics look mostly correct. I am guesing it has something to do with my Viewsonic, however the supported computer resoultion is not one control panel shows, it shows 1980 x1020, and I have tried using cataylst and setting to 1080i and 720p but no improvement. Any suggestions?

BTW I have looked at most GOOGLE solutions but half them are blaming cables and the others dont seem to apply.


Viewsonic 24" Supported Computer Resolutions 1360 x768 [

Fractal Design XT Titamium
Corsair 6 GB XMS 1333 (should have bought 1666 rookie error)
Asus P7P55D-E PRO
I5-duo 650
Seasonic Bronze 520Watt
Black Cavier 7200RPM Sata3
Pro Color 900 MGHZ 6870

Last edited by john frodo; January 7, 2011 at 12:12 PM. Reason: incorrect video card
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 12:52 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Control Panel > Appearance and Personalization > Display > Adjust Clear Type Text.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 01:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

the monitor only supports 1360 x 768? then you should have your resolution set to that value.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 02:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default Thank you gentlemen

I will try both, although I did try and set resolution without success.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 05:37 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john frodo View Post
I will try both, although I did try and set resolution without success.
if can also try using vga cable to moniter with a dvi adapter on video card cos DRM is better on vga
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 12:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Hi Kapt, thats how I run at the moment. The main reason I would want to change is I have the impression that game video is not nearly as good through VGA as HDMI?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 12:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

you need to set your panel to the native resolution regardless, else it will look like crap.

HDMI is better then VGA in quality usually, but to some it doesn't make a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Thats part of the mystery to me. When I use VGA with native res set to 1920 x 1080 I get a prefect picture. When I use the same setting an HDMI cables I get the underscan image on the screen, and the text is blurry.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:26 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Bad HDMI cable maybe?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

I dont think so, I used it with a PS3 and a different monitor and no problem. If its possible I think the Viewsonic accepts a analog signal of 1080p but only displays 720p. For some reason the digital signal by HDMI is not getting down to 720P or I have DRM issues, does DRM degrade your signal. However I am only looking at webpages and the Microsoft desktop with a legit WIN 7. I did not have time to try my other monitor. I think Viewsonic has some splanning to do. All their TV have this strange 1080P support but 1380 by 760 PC support.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
U2711 2560 x 1440 Text Unreadable Adjustemnts Made. rjbarker Display Units 10 November 16, 2010 08:06 PM
how do i erase text on youtube? hohohee Off Topic 0 November 13, 2009 09:12 AM
Computer won't go into windows?!-Fuzzy Lavitz Troubleshooting 15 November 12, 2009 08:29 PM
text won't display right FreqE1 Troubleshooting 10 December 8, 2008 04:25 PM