Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 01:51 PM
schweppes's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 26
Default screen wont turn on

i have installed all components onto my motherboard, and plugged in the two pci-e power connectors into the psu.
when i turn on the computer the fan on the gpu spins. but nothing is coming through the monitor! i tried both through hdmi wire and through the DVI port, but in both cases nothing is being displayed, no bios, no nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 01:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: at home
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

Try it on an other pc to lookif the screen works
and look of you have did all the cableling right
may thats a solution
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 02:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

New Build? Check that the EATX 12v power to the mobo is connected and secure. Otherwise list details of components involved and maybe post a snapshot of your build, it may help others in spotting the problem.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 03:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 211
Default

Try the monitor with another PC (or laptop assuming it's viable), or try a different monitor with the PC. That way we'll find who's the culprit.

Also, make sure you have the power plugged in for your monitor and not just DVI/HDMI -> GPU. These are two separate cables. And don't forget to push the power button on the monitor!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 03:54 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Ya try everything and go over everything twice. Most likely a dead monitor or it could be like my mom who called apple support because her monitor wasn't working. All she had to do was turn it on.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried selecting the proper input from your monitor menu?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:16 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

does your motherboard have onboard gpu? Try plugging in your monitor to your mobo display port.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 01:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

I've got a question...

When you do plug your monitor into a power source (don't worry if you plug in the display to a display adapter or not) and hit the power button, what exactly happens?

Does the power light glow or illuminate on the monitor? Does the screen illuminate (it will still be black, but you can tell that the LEDs are on) and/or then give some message about no source? I want to know if your monitor actually works before we try diagnosing the other problems?

Or did you fix it since you haven't responded in a day?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
screen res controlled by actual screen or laptop supaflyx3 Mobile Computing 3 July 29, 2010 08:36 PM
gigabyte motherboard wont turn on kuziwk Troubleshooting 2 January 16, 2010 03:43 PM
Comp wont turn on... Zelzubub Troubleshooting 13 May 18, 2009 06:39 PM
OMG such bad luck. Kaze screen doesnt turn on :( arekieh Troubleshooting 7 November 25, 2008 07:09 PM