Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 10:15 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default laptop troubles

well just got home a lil bit ago to find my gf's laptop sittin facedown on the floor...started it up,it starts up or at least it sounds like it but i have no screen what so ever just black as if it was turned off...am i shit outta luck or is there something i can do
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 10:28 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Laptop is definitely toast.

No screen equals broken lcd or mainboard issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 10:30 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

yea i just plugged it into my monitor and it still shows nothing so i guess its time to hunt down a new one
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 10:31 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

literally?

take out battery,ram,cd drives.

flush the power button, only power cord i, wait for no memory beep, power cord out,flush the button, memory in one at a time, try again. no luck? ouch
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 10:52 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

nope no go dangtx .........i also have an ibm thinkpad here that i have no idea where i got it lol but its locked as soon as u turn it on...anyway around this
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 11:25 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

possible soemthing cracked or disconnected with the drop
the think pad is locked with a password? there are ways to remove them, first of all make sure its not a hot unit. if it is, dispose of it in the recycling bin.


if cool, then you can find stuff online that will unlock them, but your best bet would be to go in person in a lappy shoppe and do it there.

before that, at least do a memtest/prime from the ubcd cd if you can.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 11:37 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

hell no about bringing it to a shop....everyplace in corner brook is a big rip off and they know it,but they know ppl will pay it....but not me...places here will charge 200 bux for a reformat its crazy...checked online for the ibm one but everything i found u gotta pay for from this place or that...these old laptops are not worth payin anything for in my book,or gotta take out a bunch of stuff and do this and that..was hopin for an easy fix with the ibm,but if not they will make nice paper weights
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 11:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

also look up oem passwords, some work.

what does it say exactly? does it try to acces cd or nothing just shows the lock and asks for pass?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 11:57 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

when u turn it on theres the ibm screen with hit f1 for bioes option and f12 for boot devices.and don't matter which one u pick or if u pick nothing at all it goes to a black screen with a lil locked padlock up in the top left corner where u can type a pw and thats it.i remembered where i got it and i asked what pw was and they told me the pw for logging on to windows but have no idea what the pw would be for the system on the start up. thats why i got it she gave it to me last yr cause she rebooted it and thats what happened
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 12:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

look online for oem passes, maybe you get lucky. bios pass is tarded unless its something like your house number that you cant ever forget,hopefully.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5Q-E Troubles Kattivo Troubleshooting 26 November 11, 2010 05:18 PM
Passat troubles Despicable Off Topic 18 August 13, 2010 01:46 PM
Labtop Troubles. Toyuko Troubleshooting 3 October 12, 2009 08:33 PM
PS3 F@H troubles Mr. Gruntsworthy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 28, 2009 02:20 PM
SVIDEO troubles the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 July 10, 2008 07:07 AM