Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 11:39 AM
poroporo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default GTX460 and LG 42LD450 EDID ID problem

I just installed a new GTX460 in my machine and it won't output 1080p@60hz on my hdtv (no signal). 24/29/30hz work but not 60. The hdtv can clearly use 60hz because it did work on my ATI 42xx IGP and my PS3. I'm using an HDMI cable with a Mini-hdmi > hdmi adapter on the card. I tried dvi>hdmi but it does the same "no signal" message when selecting 60hz.

I've been looking around and it seems like the drivers would misinterpret the EDID ID that the hdtv provides (would be the problem).

I'm stuck at this point because I don't know what to do next. I'm using Nvidia 260.99 drivers on Win 7 x64.


Help
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 11:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if its the only display hooked up(disable onboard) will it output anything, at and or before boot?

ive had headaches before with connectors, but its more rare.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 11:49 AM
poroporo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

It is the only display hooked up ATM. Upon installing the drivers, I didn't have any signal because it would automatically try to output 1080p@60hz, which is what the drivers call 'native' resolution for my tv.

I always get display on boot (bios, etc.).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 11:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

right, sorry i wasnt paying attention(again)

anyway to force it, or disable detection should prove successful. in the meantime try another set of drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 12:20 PM
poroporo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

I'm afraid I'll need some help on how to do so. Any quick links?

Edit : Trying 258.96 ..

Last edited by poroporo; December 29, 2010 at 01:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 02:05 PM
poroporo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't work, still 30hz.

GTX 460 - DVI-hdmi video projector - black screen - NVIDIA Forums - Page 4
GTX 460 connecting via DVI to HDMI cable to LCD TV - NVIDIA Forums

Those people are having similar problems with projectors, supposedly there's a fix coming...


Edit : Using a DB15 cable (vga) it works fine... temporary solution until NVidia updates its drivers :(

Last edited by poroporo; December 29, 2010 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 03:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

sorry, was away. its soft for sure if the other connection works fine. unless there is a hardware/firmware level issue but dont think so
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] EVGA GTX460 brewer265@ Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 21, 2010 08:44 AM
gtx460 SLI enabling it importpsycho Video Cards 7 October 8, 2010 10:30 AM
Completed Sugo i3 GTX460 Shennanigans CroSsFiRe2009 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 11 September 6, 2010 07:15 PM
gtx460 or 5830? TheGrapist Video Cards 13 August 13, 2010 10:32 PM
GTX460? drmsai Video Cards 32 April 2, 2010 10:32 PM