Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 07:09 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default Ground issue with HTPC

Hey Guys, I have one of those Nmedia HTPC cases and I having some grounding issues recently. When I touch the front panel (power, usb ports, etc) I am getting a static discharge and the HTPC reboots. I did some testing and all the power buttons and ports are grounded to the chassis correctly but the front panel is NOT grounded at all (at it is metal). I think I am causing a short between the front panel and the buttons when I touch them. So, should I run a wire and ground the front panel to the chassis or something? Thanks.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 08:41 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Before you try anything - test with a multimeter. Check for continuity between the grounds that you already have. It's possible that some part of your motherboard (that the front panel connects to) isn't grounded properly, and a ground is created by your finger when you touch it, completing the circle.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 10:35 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

As I said, I did some test and everything is grounded properly (I used a multimeter with continuity). All the grounds on the front inputs and buttons are grounded to the chassis, PSU and to the motherboard standoff bolts so they are good. The front panel is anodized and is not grounded.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:19 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

sounds if you need a humidifier in that room where htpc is, for to dry
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 06:48 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately that is the climate here in Ottawa, EXTREMELY dry this time of year and high static.I guess I will have to continue grounding myself on the wood stove before touching the HTPC.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 07:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Running a wire as you said before would work as well. How about a wire from the front panel and screwed to an unused motherboard, fan, or HDD mount points? I don't know what your case looks like on the inside, but there should be something close enough to the front panel to ground to the rest of the chassis. Also, if your USB ports on the front panel are done properly you can also ground by electrically connecting the outer jacket of the USB header to some metal on the front panel with some foil or something. The anodized layer on your panel shouldn't prevent this from working, given that your finger touching the panel discharged enough current for the PC to notice.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2010, 05:21 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
Unfortunately that is the climate here in Ottawa, EXTREMELY dry this time of year and high static.I guess I will have to continue grounding myself on the wood stove before touching the HTPC.


no cooking while there......fish fingers lol

frontier204 has the sulotion
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2010, 08:25 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys, I will give it a try. The case is extremely cramped but I will manage.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to buy ground wire? Eldonko Off Topic 19 July 10, 2010 07:11 PM
HTPC Environment DVI->HDMI Issue pdjmwj Video Cards 5 August 13, 2009 05:25 PM
Ground Zero Google Nuke it badatcards Off Topic 8 July 18, 2009 01:33 AM
Front panel ground? martin_metal_88 Troubleshooting 0 May 31, 2009 06:00 PM