Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2010, 11:40 PM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default Is my Graphics Card Broken?

Hello,

I have a XFX GeForce 9500GT, that is about 6 months old. My screen has random lines showing up all over the place. Is this called artifacting?

I looked in the device manager of windows and it says that windows has found a problem with the card. Is my Graphics card broken? Can I fix this?

I couldn't post up a picture, b/c it was too hard to see on my monitor. I am posting this on a different computer.

Please Help,
Mik
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 12:02 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

f it is the card its probably the memory . if.

check the connections, reseat the card, try another cable/monitor

does it happen at boot as well? or if you go to bios and stay there?

in case it bit the dust, xfx are pretty good with the rma's and such.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 12:21 AM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks for the help, but i figured it out. I had to reset the CMOS.

Still not sure what caused the problem though. The artifacts show up as soon as the computer booted, even after I reseated the card multiple times (even in different slots). If anyone could explain what the problem was, that would be nice.

-Mik
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 06:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

can you check temps?

when you say as soon the computer booted, is it doing it in the bios/windows loading screen?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 09:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

if out of warranty, send it to the oven and bake it right....re-flow the solder pre-heat oven to 425f with a cookie sheet and stand-offs or balled tin foil to keep card level and off sheet for 7mins and turn off oven and let cool (meaning don't move till cold)

note remove all plastic parts ,fan and GPU facing up
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 10:56 AM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

@mkultra: Temps seem fine. Yes, The artifacts start as soon as the bios/windows loading screen.

@kaptcrunch: I'll keep that in mind, but that will probably be my last resort.
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 01:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

i think you're there, if you get artefacts in th bios and the temps are fine, it's RMA or oven IMO
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken card for physx? Fudd Rucker Video Cards 6 December 12, 2010 09:46 PM
Best Graphics Card Right Now. JORD4N Video Cards 25 September 28, 2009 10:11 AM
What graphics card? Farmrush New Builds 17 September 14, 2009 08:12 PM
graphics card? Generic User #2 HTPC Systems & Software 4 July 25, 2009 07:50 PM
Need Graphics Card dozer951 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 9, 2008 11:43 PM