Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:17 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default Crashing whilst gaming

Ok so my brothers computer crashes while he games. It just says that the program has stopped working. It has windows 7 ultimate, Asus p7h55-m, skill ripjaws 4th 1333 mh, core i5 760 and an xfx 6850. Thoughts?
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:24 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Passes all stability testing? Memtest, Prime95, OCCT, Furmark?

BSOD, or program stops working? Which games? I've had issues with Fallout NV on my perfectly stable system.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:24 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

make sure it's not a cracked game. update all drivers for 6850 or a good old game reinstall. would be the first place to start. also make sure the card is not overheating but it doesn't sound like it. Just to be sure the system doesn't crash just the game?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:51 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Nah I don't think his system crashed.. I think he is getting that dialogue box at the bottom-right corner when your graphic display fails (crash to desktop)... from what I am interperting from experience.

Did you do a clean install of your display drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 12:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hows temps and voltages?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 01:37 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

Voltages for CPU are stock. Ram is set to 1.6v. I have done all the tests and nothing.. They're all fine. CPU is 50 degrees under load, so that's fine. I don't know about gpu temps. The games he's playing are empire total war and Napoleon total war. They're through steam. I just installed windows 7, so catalyst 10.12 is the only driver ever installed on it.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 01:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure Windows 7 keeps logs of crashed applications in event viewer, unlike previous versions of Windows, it actually gets some pretty useful information.

Hit windows key+r and type in eventvwr, look under the logs that fall under the time frame.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KOTOR crashing muse108dc Gaming 2 October 8, 2010 02:25 AM
Crashing - Tried Everything - PLEASE HELP Rawhyde Troubleshooting 8 June 13, 2009 05:24 AM
clocking and crashing and gaming and folding and crashing vinister Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 June 30, 2008 11:22 AM
X1950XT crashing ebdoradz Video Cards 1 June 12, 2008 10:20 AM
BF2 crashing,, curtispan Troubleshooting 8 January 2, 2008 03:51 AM