Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 04:14 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default Hard drive troubles

i have a 1tb wd cav green hd. i had probs with a mobo on the pc it was on and i think it may have killed it. When i try to install win7 on it it says theres no drive to install on. i get no option like load drivers or nothing. on the screen where u load drivers ,format etc . where it usally shows the drive and how much space etc that screen is just blank...Is there anything i can do or am i just best off sending it off rma.


this isn't mine,but where the partitions are shown,on mine its all blank with nothing to install to...

Last edited by cmac79; December 20, 2010 at 04:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 05:03 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Well, if another drive will work fine and that one won't, then yeah, you probably did kill it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 12:19 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

If possible I would install it on a working PC and see if you can initialize the disk via disk management.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going for new Hard drive apos2009 Storage 0 April 8, 2010 03:17 AM
How do I set my second hard drive as a "data drive"? lsquare Storage 11 March 19, 2010 09:11 PM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM
[WTB] hard drive for laptop CTA Buy/Sell & Trade 14 April 1, 2009 12:44 PM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 12:08 PM