Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 03:16 AM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default BF2 crashing,,

Hi guys, new to the forums.

I wasn't sure whether to put the threa in gaming or here. Oh well.

I first sent a customer service message to EA but no reply after 3days, so I guess I will try here. These forums always seem hlepful from what I have been reading.

Anyway, I have an overclocked 4200+ AM2 @2.7Ghz and an XFX 7900GS XT that I do not overclock. I like to play with my cousin and I usually talk to him over Skype or Vent. (Teamspeak audio quality just doesn't cut it for us). After 2-3 rounds, I hear this awful pixelated glitchy noise coming from my headphones/speakers. I freeze in game and I try to alt-tab out like crazy. Then my computer completely crashes (although fans are still running) and my screen goes blank. My temps for CPU seem fine (33c) but I don't know if my 7900GS is too hot :S (70c tops). When I run BF2 without Skype or Vent, It will still cause glitchy noises, but if I alt-tab out to Firefox or something, It will just lag like crazy and go back to normal. I reformatted recently to see if that would fix anything, but I guess not. :(

My other specs:
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
G.Skill 2GB DDR2-800
Fortron FSP 550W
Sound Blaster Audigy 4
Scythe Ninja

I have run orthos for 12hours with no stability issues. Any ideas guys?

Last edited by curtispan; January 29, 2008 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 04:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Nothing wrong with your system. BF2 is known for its desktop crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 04:15 AM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Oh it doesn't crash to desktop, it crashes my computer and I have to hit the restart button.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 11:59 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Your video card should be capable of running higher temps than that, so that's pretty much okay! Make sure you have all the latest drivers for all your devices in your rig! Very important!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 06:39 PM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

I believe all of my components are up to date. I have installed the latest video and sound drivers. Am I missing anything else? Should I flash my BIOS to the latest revision?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 07:54 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curtispan View Post
Hi guys, new to the forums.

I wasn't sure whether to put the threa in gaming or here. Oh well.

I first sent a customer service message to EA but no reply after 3days, so I guess I will try here. These forums always seem hlepful from what I have been reading.

Anyway, I have an overclocked 4200+ AM2 @2.7Ghz and an XFX 7900GS XT that I do not overclock. I like to play with my cousin and I usually talk to him over Skype or Vent. (Teamspeak audio quality just doesn't cut it for us). After 2-3 rounds, I hear this awful pixelated glitchy noise coming from my headphones/speakers. I freeze in game and I try to alt-tab out like crazy. Then my computer completely crashes (although fans are still running) and my screen goes blank. My temps for CPU seem fine (33c) but I don't know if my 7900GS is too hot :S (70c tops). When I run BF2 without Skype or Vent, It will still cause glitchy noises, but if I alt-tab out to Firefox or something, It will just lag like crazy and go back to normal. I reformatted recently to see if that would fix anything, but I guess not. :(

My other specs:
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
G.Skill 2GB DDR2-800
Fortron FSP 550W
Sound Blaster Audigy 4
Scythe Ninja

I have run orthos for 12hours with no stabability issues. Any ideas guys?
I used to get that crackly sound in BF it was my soundcard, dropped the settings and it went away.
I would have a look through this forum, when i have a problem with BF2 or 2142 thats the first place I hit.
Support - Total Gaming Network
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 08:08 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

There has been some speculation that BF2 has compatibility issues with service pack 2 much of what I have read in other forums is pretty dated and peoples hardware configuration is far different and less powerful. I highly suggest looking into the patches that you applied to the game and download the full patch v1.41 if you haven't already any incremental updates have been known causes problems and are particullary buggy.

Good luck,

Eagle Eye
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 03:00 AM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Thanks guys, I lowered the sound quality to low in BF2. It was at medium before. Hopefully it will work next time I play BF2.

I am meant to choose hardware as the audio renderer right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 03:51 AM
Bazman's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Coquitlam
Posts: 20
Default

You might have to uninstall then reinstall the game. I'm running SP2 and have no problems with it and BF2.

The game is really buggy and you can get conflicts with just about any program, but like I said, sometimes you just have to re-install.

I don't even bother troubleshooting anymore because it doesn't do any good.

You can save your profile, it's in your documents folder.

I forgot to add, anything you want to know about BF2 tweaking can be found here:

TweakGuides.com - Battlefield 2 Tweak Guide

Last edited by Bazman; January 2, 2008 at 03:55 AM. Reason: add link
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HIS Radeon HD 3850 crashing system in Game [SNG]McBain Video Cards 21 March 19, 2008 12:11 PM