Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 04:30 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Help Overclocking the Amd X2 4200 939

Hi there id like to say ive managed to read a lot over the internet and look through guides on how to overclock but i had a few questions in purticular but before i ask them i figure its best if i tell yeall what hardware im running.

Amd X2 4200 939 Manchester Core Running at 1.36 Vcore
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUXE Motherboard Rev A3
XFX Nvidia 7300GT ( SOON to be XFX 8800GT 512 MB cant wait comeon DC)
OCZ 2gb 3200 DDR Performance memory
600-wat OCZ Gamestream powersupply
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Hardrive
Seagate 500gb 7200.11 Hardrive
Samsung 32inch Hd Lcd Tv formerly Viewsonic 19inch Vx922(Very sharp screen for gaming)
Zalman 9700 with Artic Silver 5
Thermaltake Matrix case with Antec Spot cool blowing on 7300GT and Antec Tri cool taking out hot air from the Zalman 9700 out of the case.
Custom made joint oem Amd Hetsink cooler for future 8800Gt cooling ( Quite proud of that)

I think thats aboot it eh.


Alrightie then so this is my shindig ive bumped the V core up to 1.40 to this date and but that was with my Zalman 9500 Cooler and the temperatures were fine yatta yatta but i couldnt get it to be stable at that point i had my

Hyper Transport set to 4
Ocz Memory set to 166
Cpu Speed was 2635 Mhz
FSB was 240 i believe

My question is does anyone have recomendations how to get the best possible overclock out of my system im sure i have more room and im wondering if i should bump the Vcore any more then 1.4 now that i have my Zalman 9700 which i think is an awesome fan ideling on stock at 27 i believe i can achieve a good overclock not that these cpu's run very hot in my opinion is it safe to run the Vcore more then 1.41
and i have put the DDR the 240 before and it has run now i didnt do Super Pi test to test it but i didnt have any problems runnin the Ocz DDR 3200 memory at that speed i put ma cas to 3-3-3 and 8 and it is running at 2T so if somone else has this cpu with a similar setup and can recommend a good voltage and ohh a good voltage for the ram as well.

I just built a rig for my brother with the Amd 6400 X2 which is running at 3.2 im hoping to achieve atleast 2.7ghz out of this cpu lol since i paid aboot 300 bucks right when the duel cores went down in price aboot a little over a year and half ago ahh good ole days of 939 so yea i appreciate anyone taking time of their hands and i regularlly clean my system infact i just installed the 9700 which i took out the whole motherboard cleaned out all the fans voided my warranty of my OCZ Psu because to clean the fan i had to open it, it was wayyy too dirty and you couldnt see the blue light.... haha what good is it buying a psu to see a blue light without being able to see it right.

Anyways Cheers and thankyou

Last edited by Dashock; December 31, 2007 at 04:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 10:12 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

1) drop the HTT multipier to 3x,
2) increase your vCore and watch your CPU temps while doing so,
3) try to keep the command rate set to 1T as A64 CPUs loose quite a bit of bandwidth when using 2T,
4) if you are not concerned about memory overclocking keep them set to DDR-400(200MHz) by using a memory divider.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 10:12 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default 939 guide

Theres a good socket 939 guide in the OC section posted by barbaossa (spell) for the asusa8n board.

The Bios on the asusa8n32SLI deluxe that I had was a little confusing.

The NB-SB option in multiples up to 5X was critical to keep the HT to around 1000 (FSB*NB to SB)-youve already got it at 4x with 240 so thats ok. Any higher needs three. You also need to make sure the PCIE settings are set as shown in the guide for stability.

Once you have those two sorted its just a case of finding the limits of the memory and cpu by tweaking timings and the FSB (5-10mhz at a time). Personally I wouldn't bother with high volts on the cpu if the OC is not stable at 1.44v. Just raise the FSB with about 1.4v till the cpu wont post and then pull it back a little till its stable + doesn't load above 50oc. That will give you a starting point for further volt tweaks and give you an idea how far you can go.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2007, 10:18 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

This guide should help: A64 Overclocking (Socket 754, 939) Intro - Icrontic.com
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 01:02 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Thanx alot guys and i dont know if my specific memory OCZ Performance 3200 2gb KIT is able to do 1T?



And thanx for the reply guys i appreciate it the most i have bumped the vcore to is 1.40 but ill try to go to 1.42 and see my temps are very good idleing at that vcore im at 33-35 dont go over 50
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2008, 11:24 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Anyone know a good program to test Memory im going to run my Memory At 1T today want to know if its stable
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a good mobo to overclock my 4200+ Scart CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 15, 2008 12:24 PM
Using AS5 on Amd X2 4200 Dashock Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 8, 2008 09:15 AM
2x512MB (1GB) DDR2 4200 Laptop RAM JJBigDog357 Buy/Sell & Trade 7 December 24, 2007 05:04 AM
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Overclocking davey421 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 July 27, 2007 09:52 AM
AM2 4200 vs. e6600? ragenrok CPU's and Motherboards 28 May 4, 2007 03:14 PM