Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 10:28 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default Worried I have have damaged by board

So I was swapping cases and ran into a ~40 min issue due to a brass board screw stripping and spinning, and not Comming out, during this I seem to have gotten metal fleks from screws on my board, and possibly damaged the internal layers... I duno if it's damaged or just being silly, but half the times I boot I see this lovely AMERICAN MEGATRENDS - no keyboard screen, then my keyboard won't work until I plug it back in, although it doesn't always happen. So... Damage or sillyboard?
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 10:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

take it out, upside down. look what falls over. then get a very 'gentle' brush and give it a makeover after youve blew it with some compressed air.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 11:28 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
take it out, upside down. look what falls over. then get a very 'gentle' brush and give it a makeover after youve blew it with some compressed air.
Haha, not pulling it again... These standoffs are not to be trusted... It seems to be fine now lol.

Wow I just relised, I dont have my 480 driver installed... No wonder my screen looks stupid...

btw do I need this 100mb system reserved partition on my SSD, because I dont want it...
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 03:57 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
Haha, not pulling it again... These standoffs are not to be trusted... It seems to be fine now lol.

Wow I just relised, I dont have my 480 driver installed... No wonder my screen looks stupid...

btw do I need this 100mb system reserved partition on my SSD, because I dont want it...
yes I believe you do, mine does since it includes your boot.

I have had stand offs stick like that on older steel cases, Xaser III,if you have flakes of filing on your mobo you really should be using compressed air and as Dan said an automatic vent brush is what I use to "dust".
USB keyboard? Check you usb keyboard setting are correct in the bios.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 05:31 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i don't think you damaged anything motherboard a pretty tuff i have even washed a few in my day sounds like you don't have your settings right for usb functioning in bios mode like SG said check it out. i wouldn't worry to much
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water damaged computer butor20022 Troubleshooting 13 October 19, 2009 09:25 AM
Damaged part on Raid Controller lcdguy Storage 3 September 19, 2009 06:28 PM
People worried about Obama's safety... More death threats than Bush somecanadianguy Off Topic 18 August 13, 2009 06:31 PM
[WTB] broken/damaged PS3 CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 12 July 28, 2009 02:17 PM
Is anyone worried about the psyko 5.1? Technokat Audio 3 July 22, 2009 03:35 PM