Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 02:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Exclamation Random Blue screens

I just got 5 new systems for the office and made a standard image and set them up. On two of the machines, i've gotten random blue screens in windows associated with some system files (eg: wiadefui.dll.mni) but never the same file twice. I was reinstalling windows 7 from the standard image and got a "IRQL Not Less or Equal" error.

Google suggests that it's a memory error so I'm running memtest overnight.
So far, it's done a few passes and there's no problem.

Any ideas what's causing the bluescreens on these machines?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 02:38 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Specs?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 02:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Core i3 530
Gigabyte G55M S2V
Corsair CMV4GX3MA133C9 4Gb DDR3-1333 CL9
Inwin BK623
WD 500 gb hdd
LG DVD burner
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 02:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if all the hardware tests pass, load up ubuntu, first as live cd, if ok then install it see if it gives something. nothing? pure software.

ubcd it just in case as well, prime it.


ps change sata cables, change sata ports..


edit look up voltages in bios. should have nothing to do but just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 03:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xilocient View Post
Core i3 530
Gigabyte G55M S2V
Corsair CMV4GX3MA133C9 4Gb DDR3-1333 CL9
Inwin BK623
WD 500 gb hdd
LG DVD burner
The .dll is related to the WIA Scanner Default UI (Windows Image Acquisition ). Any hardware installed missing drivers?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 03:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

There shouldn't be any missing drivers. I have 5 identical machines and I installed windows 7 using the same process on all of them. Two are acting up, but the other three are fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 03:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

look up board/bios revisions. swap drives,ram.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 09:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Memtest ran fine with no errors overnight (22+ runs). I tried installing from my USB key again this morning and it blue screened during the install again (PFN list corrupt) so I formatted the USB key and copied the necessary files to make a win 7 install and so far so good...

Windows installed fine on one machine but I want to test it before it let it out in the wild. I'm running prime 95 in blend mode on these two problem machines for at least 20 hours. Will this be sufficient to ensure that the system is good to go?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:17 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Yes, absolutely. Prime will test the system as a whole. If you want a quicker test, you can use OCCT (1 hour) too.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Thanks! Update:

ON the second problematic machine, installed win 7 using the custom image and got problems with ntfs.sys and memory management so I installed win 7 from the win7 enterprise image and it's working alright so far. Out of curiosity, any clues to what went wrong? I used that image on 4 other machines and it was fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Blue Screens & System Restores on Startup NeilGames Troubleshooting 12 October 17, 2010 09:36 AM
Arent all screens HD? Alexanderrazz Display Units 6 July 5, 2010 02:00 PM
Frequent Blue Screens-HELP! flyingdutchman Troubleshooting 35 January 30, 2010 04:53 PM
Random Freezing and Black Screens jcmaz Troubleshooting 20 January 3, 2010 08:18 AM
Glossy Framed Screens enaberif Display Units 16 February 27, 2008 10:47 AM