Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:24 PM
DSNB's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Halifax [Hammonds Plains]
Posts: 36
Default Mobo and DVD

I am confused.

DVD roms are you play DVD right?

DVD RW or what ever, (DVD SATA SL or w/e it is ) can write on DVD right?

Do I need both? Or can I just settle it with DVD RW?

Another thing, how do I check if my mobo is PCIE 2.0?

My mobo is Asus P5N32-E SLI Socket 775
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSNB View Post
I am confused.

DVD roms are you play DVD right?

DVD RW or what ever, (DVD SATA SL or w/e it is ) can write on DVD right?

Do I need both? Or can I just settle it with DVD RW?

Another thing, how do I check if my mobo is PCIE 2.0?

My mobo is Asus P5N32-E SLI Socket 775
If the spec page for the motherboard doesn't specifically state that it's PCIe 2.0 then it's not.

As far as DVDRom Vice DVD RW goes.... you've got it right, but in all honesty, it's not worth saving $5 or $10 bucks to get a DVDRom.... somewhere down the line you're going to want to burn something to a DVD even if it's just for backup purposes.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:32 PM
DSNB's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Halifax [Hammonds Plains]
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If the spec page for the motherboard doesn't specifically state that it's PCIe 2.0 then it's not.

As far as DVDRom Vice DVD RW goes.... you've got it right, but in all honesty, it's not worth saving $5 or $10 bucks to get a DVDRom.... somewhere down the line you're going to want to burn something to a DVD even if it's just for backup purposes.
I don't have the box on me.

Anyways, so I can settle it with DVD DR right?

Whoah you are in NS too? =)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately it looks like the ASUS page is down so I can't link to the spec page.... :(

Looking at another site that lists the motherboard specs here.... Asus P5N32-E SLI it doesn't look like it supports PCIe 2.0.

And yeah, go with a DVD RW. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:43 PM
DSNB's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Halifax [Hammonds Plains]
Posts: 36
Default

NVM XD it DOESNT supports 2.0 PCIE.


EDIT: Don't close this X_X. So I can't run my XFX 8800 GT Alpha dog? There was another thread how it couldn't run it properly since it didn't have 2.0 PCIE...

Thanks for the suggestion for DVD =)

Last edited by DSNB; December 27, 2007 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 05:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSNB View Post
NVM XD it DOESNT supports 2.0 PCIE.


EDIT: Don't close this X_X. So I can't run my XFX 8800 GT Alpha dog? There was another thread how it couldn't run it properly since it didn't have 2.0 PCIE...

Thanks for the suggestion for DVD =)
It should still work fine, you just won't be getting the full benefit of the card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2007, 06:08 PM
DSNB's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Halifax [Hammonds Plains]
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
It should still work fine, you just won't be getting the full benefit of the card.
Thanks! Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which mobo should I buy? yycraven CPU's and Motherboards 27 January 15, 2008 07:31 PM
Bad cpu/mobo for o/c? Frustian Troubleshooting 6 November 3, 2007 10:09 PM
Which CPU for this mobo jap333 CPU's and Motherboards 12 October 24, 2007 02:26 PM
new mobo and ram help tony the tiger CPU's and Motherboards 6 September 19, 2007 06:24 PM
Mobo cdn_Madrach HTPC Systems & Software 8 July 6, 2007 05:51 AM