Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default BIOS updates

Considering I've only done these when needed several have come out for my motherboard, I am wondering if updating it for my new CPU would I have to do each indiviual update chronologically? Or do I just do the latest one? I sent my question to ASUS and they say just to do the latest but I am unsure and I don't want to brick my motherboard.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

You can update to any Bios revision and you don't need to do it chronologically.

If you are afraid of bricking your motherboard, back up your currect BIOS and save it on a thumbdrive so you can restore it to your previous working BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vohiep84 View Post
You can update to any Bios revision and you don't need to do it chronologically.

If you are afraid of bricking your motherboard, back up your currect BIOS and save it on a thumbdrive so you can restore it to your previous working BIOS.

Thanks alot for clearing that up.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:08 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

The good thing about most Modern ASUS/GB and other boards as well is the dual redundant BIOS setups they have. So even if you by some chance Nuke your BIOS completely, it will revert to the backup or copy the backup onto the primary.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Oh and try to not to use any in windows bios flashing. I had nothing but bad luck with those programs. The in windows program didn't brick my motherboard but it made my system unstable.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- EZ Flash 2 - the safest way to update BIOS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 03:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vohiep84 View Post
Oh and try to not to use any in windows bios flashing. I had nothing but bad luck with those programs. The in windows program didn't brick my motherboard but it made my system unstable.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- EZ Flash 2 - the safest way to update BIOS

I've flashed my motherboard using the windows utility when I had XP installed a few times and had no issues.

But now I'm running windows 7 64 bit and the ASUS windows bios flash utility won't work so I am using EZflash.
__________________
Soon to be revamped system 2
Sys2:AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz on an ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings Antec truepower 430psu gfx Sapphire 4650 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 11:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sarnia ON Canada
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

in regards to BIOS flashing do we still have to have our hard drive located in a certain spot and so on and what about other devices ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 11:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeViLzzz2008 View Post
in regards to BIOS flashing do we still have to have our hard drive located in a certain spot and so on and what about other devices ?
Can be changed or left alone, makes no difference. However, it usually clears your old bios settings, so just reconfigure your settings and your set.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 02:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sarnia ON Canada
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

I really thought you had to have only 1 device hooked up as primary master or something otherwise you could damage your hardware .....

I know I have seen this mentioned in the past when I thought about flashing my bios but then thought better of it as my pc was working the way it should anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 03:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Normally you would already have your components connected to your motherboard. Flashing your BIOS only takes a few seconds if not minutes, it doesn't require you to strip your motherboard of its connections.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupt BIOS? Main BIOS Checksum Error geokilla Troubleshooting 8 February 26, 2013 11:13 AM
Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS? Kayen Troubleshooting 5 August 7, 2008 06:31 PM
Updates Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 January 6, 2008 08:11 AM
updates for Vista Gamashinoch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 31, 2007 03:42 AM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 07:33 AM