Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 02:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default Question about SSD+HDD setup

Hey, everyone! I'm new to the forums, but really like it here!

My question is this:
I just purchased an OZC agility 2 100gb SSD that I would like to use to boot my OS and main applications. So I installed it, went into my BIOS and set the SSD to primary and my HDD to second. Good to go.

Everything appears good, my OS is on my SSD like I wanted, but when I go into "Computer" from the start menu, it says Hard Drives (1) and shows only my SSD and not my HDD. But in "Device Manager" my WD 640gb CB comes up under my SSD and says that it is working... Shouldn't the HDD come up in "Computer" as a second drive that I can store all my media and other stuff in??

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this didn't make sense or I rambled. I tried to word it as clearly as I could.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 02:42 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,305
Default

Hi gzussturbo and welcome to HWC!

It sounds like either the hard drive is not initialized or at the very least hasn't been assigned a drive letter. You didnt say what OS you have but Im going to assume its vista or windows 7 (basically the same procedure for both) here is an article on how to initialize a new disk
How to Install and Initialize an Unformatted Hard Drive in Windows Vista and Windows 7

If the disk has been used before all you should need to do is add a drive letter to it:
Change, add, or remove a drive letter

Hope that helps!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 02:48 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Is that a new HDD?

Check to see if you need to partition the drive. Usually during this step, it also ask you to assign a letter to the drives.

Last edited by vohiep84; November 11, 2010 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 03:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

AkG:

Thanks for the welcome :) I am using Win7. Thanks for the links, I have yet to do it, but I will soon and let you know how it works!



vohiep84:

The drive isn't brand new, but I did reformat it when I was installing Win7
__________________
os: Win7 hp 64-bit
mobo: Asus Ramage II Extreme
cpu: Core i7 920
case: Antec 1200
ram: Corsair Dominator 6gb DDR3
gpu: EVGA GTX 295
hdd: OZC Agility 2 100gb SSD/ WD 640gb Caviar Black HDD
psu: Corsair 1000w
heatsink: Noctua nh- u12p (duel fan)
keyboard: Razer Lycosa
mouse: CM sentinal 5600dpi
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 03:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Okay then I would imagine it's not partitioned yet.

Partition or Volume - Create New - Windows 7 Forums

Try the above link.

I usually do the diskpart way (option 2).

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 08:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I did the method that you posted, vohiep84, and it worked! Thank you both for the help! You guys are awesome!


This is an off topic question, if you know off the top of your head, but I want to redownload steam and all the games/data that I had with it. How can I make it work so that steam runs on the SSD but my games go to my HDD?
__________________
os: Win7 hp 64-bit
mobo: Asus Ramage II Extreme
cpu: Core i7 920
case: Antec 1200
ram: Corsair Dominator 6gb DDR3
gpu: EVGA GTX 295
hdd: OZC Agility 2 100gb SSD/ WD 640gb Caviar Black HDD
psu: Corsair 1000w
heatsink: Noctua nh- u12p (duel fan)
keyboard: Razer Lycosa
mouse: CM sentinal 5600dpi
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 09:09 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Your welcome!

So you want the steam program to run quick but don't mind that your games load slow. Is that correct?

The game data has to be on the SSD if you want fast loading speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 10:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Well, there are some games that I want to be on the SSD for sure like Civ 5 because when playing on a large map it can get bogged down later in the game, but for the most part most games load pretty fast on my machine.

So after installing steam, I guess I can install some games to the SSD and some to the HDD, is that correct?
__________________
os: Win7 hp 64-bit
mobo: Asus Ramage II Extreme
cpu: Core i7 920
case: Antec 1200
ram: Corsair Dominator 6gb DDR3
gpu: EVGA GTX 295
hdd: OZC Agility 2 100gb SSD/ WD 640gb Caviar Black HDD
psu: Corsair 1000w
heatsink: Noctua nh- u12p (duel fan)
keyboard: Razer Lycosa
mouse: CM sentinal 5600dpi
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2010, 11:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Hmm,

I am not completely sure how steam handles data but theres alot of information on steam forums regarding installing games on different drives.

From a quick glance it looks like steam doesnt support multiple drives. Some users found ways around it but it looks like alot of work is involved.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and HDD, 2 OS help alexkissu Storage 3 September 25, 2010 03:17 PM
Best HDD setup for gaming/storage - NON SSD Flintblade Storage 11 June 7, 2010 02:59 PM
Why use a SSD Or Fast HDD? TokeR New Builds 27 December 10, 2009 11:36 AM
SSD setup MarkOne Storage 6 October 27, 2009 07:47 AM
Question(s) about RAID, HDD's, and SSD'S AmuseMe Storage 28 September 6, 2009 10:22 AM