Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 08:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

A small SSD would improve day-to-day operations I'd say. If you got a 60GB one it should be able to hold Windows along with Photoshop and whatever video editing software you use. But like others have said, relocate the swap/scratch files to a HDD.

And personally, I think Windows 7 runs a fair bit quicker than Vista does, even with SP2. But that's just my opinion. You kind of need Windows 7 with an SSD anyways, otherwise you lack TRIM support and your SSD will probably degrade fairly quick.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 08:59 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
You kind of need Windows 7 with an SSD anyways, otherwise you lack TRIM support and your SSD will probably degrade fairly quick.
True, I totally have forget that.

So concider around 200$ on a good trim SSD around 60gb + 120 for a windows 7. What I would do is to try the clean install and if it's enough then skip the SSD. If you still want more speed then look for the SSD + Win 7? I think it's a fair deal.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 09:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malam View Post
I have a second drive in the computer that I was going to use as a backup drive for "My Pictures". May be I should dedicate this for the pagefile and PS scratch file. I'll use an external drive for the backup. Is there a role for an SSD drive here ?
For Photoshop performance, it would be best to have the pagefile and scratch on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 10:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Bud like i said earlier if its running slow maybe you have a virus. A buddy built a rig for his teenage son. Good rig too. A couple weeks later it was slower than a turtle. It was filled with malware/trojans.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 08:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Thanks a million guys. I have decided to do a clean install first with Vista, and move my page files and scratch files to a separate drive. I will wait for Christmas or Boxing Day Sales (if I'm lucky) for the price of SSD and perhaps Windows 7 to drop. I will take a second look at my situation then.

After the clean install, I will provide an update .. Cheers.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 05:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
True, I totally have forget that.

So concider around 200$ on a good trim SSD around 60gb + 120 for a windows 7. What I would do is to try the clean install and if it's enough then skip the SSD. If you still want more speed then look for the SSD + Win 7? I think it's a fair deal.

Just found out that Windows 7 OEM are priced cheaper. What are your experiences with OEM Operating Systems ? Does is mean I will not be allowed to reinstall or upgrade the system in a few years time?
Thanks.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 01:17 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malam View Post
Just found out that Windows 7 OEM are priced cheaper. What are your experiences with OEM Operating Systems ? Does is mean I will not be allowed to reinstall or upgrade the system in a few years time?
Thanks.
The main difference is that a retail contain X86 + X64. A retail can also be installed multiple time on 1 computer. The OEM is supose not to work when hardware swaping and re-installing but it have work great for almost every one here so...the worst is taht you have to call MS to say yo I changed hardware need to re-install plz activate. So not a big deal.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 07:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
The main difference is that a retail contain X86 + X64. A retail can also be installed multiple time on 1 computer. The OEM is supose not to work when hardware swaping and re-installing but it have work great for almost every one here so...the worst is taht you have to call MS to say yo I changed hardware need to re-install plz activate. So not a big deal.
Thanks Bud. I found the OEM of Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit for $99.00 at Canada Direct and picked one up this afternoon. Wow, what a difference. Just finished the new install and a couple of drivers. Will start installing my applications tomorrow - (Unless the Leafs are playing well ..).
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2010, 04:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default An Update..

After the clean Vista install, things were not that much better, and I ran into other problems. I found that Tiger Direct has Windows 7 OEM versions that were cheaper than the full ones, so I picked up the Home Premium version. With Windows 7, things a running a lot quicker and smoother. The start ups and shortdowns were faster too. I have reinstalled Lightroom and Photoshop and so far has seen a vast improvement. I have not moved the scratch folders yet ... my backup drive is part of a Raid 1 set, and don't thing I should put the windows swap files and PS scratch files there. I'll have to get a new drive later. Cheers.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2010, 07:30 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Other satisfied Windows 7 user, I'm not surprised It's amazing just how slow Vista was really, not sure how I used it for those couple years.

Good to hear that your PC is running well now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Korean War Starting Again? Kommie986 Off Topic 40 July 25, 2010 08:54 AM
Computer running not starting up.... Hail Ceasar Troubleshooting 4 March 26, 2010 08:16 AM
I'm starting to feel dated Mark Off Topic 63 May 3, 2009 04:38 PM
starting HTPC david17 HTPC Systems & Software 13 January 4, 2008 03:13 PM