Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 07:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I tried a different GPU, luckily my GPU is a PCI card.
Unfortunately I can't try the PSU because it lacks the 4 pin connector, it has a 24pin though :\ weird 400w PSU :@ :@
I tried with essentials only, 1 stick ram, etc.

It all came to the exact same result I got earlier, no beeps nothing, no post.

If the PSU is not giving enough power, will it still light up all the components? Ie. mobo, graphics card, etc? because I see lights on everything that have lights...

does that mean it's either my PSU, Mobo, or Processor?

could it be a virus by any chance? I'm not sure what viruses can do... can they mess up the boot in this way? (lets keep away from the stop downloading porn comments, we all know that it doesn't deter anyone.)

Last edited by calvincheng14; October 25, 2010 at 07:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 08:14 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calvincheng14 View Post
could it be a virus by any chance?
Viruses only affect software... unless your bios isn't flash protected and you got a real nasty one that reprogrammed/corrupted your bios. That is however extremely unlikely...

The psu would be the easiest to check next... have you completely striped the board down to bare essentials? Even a bad usb device like a keyboards or flash drive can prevent post...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 08:18 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

If you stripped it bare, and got those results, its is likely your CPU/Mobo or PSU. It could absolutely be your PSU even tho it is lighting up 'stuff'. Just cause it has the right voltage, doesnt mean components are getting the amperes they need to run.

Swapping the PSU is absolutely the next easiest step.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 08:20 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Here is an excellent "no post" guide:

10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide

Edit:Try posting the board without any memory to see if you get any beeps (assuming your board is connected to a speaker or has one onboard), then try without any videocard. If the board beeps then it's probably O.K.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 10:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I'll make sure to strip it ACTUALLY bare, cause I had some USB devices plugged in.
Post results soon, PSU will take a while to obtain unfortunately :'(
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 12:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I think you're all going to hate me. I reset CMOS and it worked..... props. Boggtrotter59's link actually worked out for me. I can't believe I fell into the category of "non-search function" user.

Thanks for everyone's input! I still don't know what happened exactly, but it seemed to do the trick. Everything's working perfectly!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 01:06 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

No worries... Good to hear everything worked out for you
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 03:40 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calvincheng14 View Post
I think you're all going to hate me. I reset CMOS and it worked..... props. Boggtrotter59's link actually worked out for me. I can't believe I fell into the category of "non-search function" user.

Thanks for everyone's input! I still don't know what happened exactly, but it seemed to do the trick. Everything's working perfectly!
seems you been hit with malware a bootblock virus corrupted Msinfo
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 03:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

those are a tad rare nowadays, but good to see it up and going :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2010, 11:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default

That's weird, I have almost the exact same symptoms. I just created a thread here, then stumbled upon this one.

I'm gonna give the "No Post" thread a read and hopefully that'll help for me too!
__________________
Intel C2D e8400 | 3.60GHz
ASUS P5Q Pro | BIOS 0703
2GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 | 800MHz
4-4-4-12
HIS HD4850 512MB
Asus Xonar DX 7.1
Seasonic M12 600w PSU
Antec 300
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vertex 2 problems (boot up from sleep) Cadence Storage 2 September 25, 2010 07:31 PM
Boot Problems TheWanderer Troubleshooting 10 September 13, 2010 06:04 PM
Evga Classified Boot Problems Goalieman077 Troubleshooting 17 October 10, 2009 01:37 PM
New Build / Disk Boot problems... Toyuko Troubleshooting 13 September 19, 2009 04:57 PM