Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 11:56 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default Is this a PSU issue?

Alright, to sum this up I'm having issues with a hard crash, where the entire computer literally turns off. doesn't bsod or anything, and happens in 2D as well as 3D.

Hardware:

CPU: 955BE
Mobo: MSI NF980-G65
Ram: Dominator 1600 DDR3
GPU: 2x 460 768mb
Cooling: h50
HDD: WD 320GB Blue
Optical: Samsung Sata DVDRW

PSU: XFX 650w XXX

I was playing some SP BC2 and it just shut down, restarted, checked gpu fan temps and speeds, adjusted the fan speed and crashed again. This did not happen when I had my Enermax 620w psu attached.... at all, ever.
I think maybe the PSU is faulty or has a short somewhere?

-Edit-
just put the two 460's at slock clocks, ran furmark, same thing.
I think the PSU is defective.... unless any of you can think of any ideas...

-edit2-

Just crashed again on 2d.... not good.
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter

Last edited by mattlef; October 15, 2010 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

any chance you could swap yer enermax back in?

2d/3d crashes..hmm...how is the ram passing memtest, you say temps are fine, how about mobo temps?

interesting choice of board, as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:51 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
any chance you could swap yer enermax back in?

2d/3d crashes..hmm...how is the ram passing memtest, you say temps are fine, how about mobo temps?

interesting choice of board, as well.
Damn, Temp2 in speedfan, which i beleive is the the nb, is 93c..... really hot.... Vregs are hot to the touch as well....
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 381
Default

Easy to test. Get occt and run for an hour. 10 mins in it will shut down.

1. Check mobo (voltage levels) 12@12, 5@5 and etc.
2. Could be psu.
__________________
heat

rfd

hofo
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 01:13 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

checked around, looks like my NB is overheating, MCP chip right now is sitting in everest at 115c and in speedfan at 95c
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 01:34 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Get an Antec Spot cool on it.
That is one hell of a hot Temp for a NB
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 01:52 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Called MSI, they say its normal, especially when you're running in sli.
updated the bios, hopefully that'll help with stability issues...
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 02:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlef View Post
Called MSI, they say its normal, especially when you're running in sli.
updated the bios, hopefully that'll help with stability issues...
nonono....115 celsius for nb is not supposed to be normal for frog's sake lol!


you need better cooling there, brother. asap. directing airflow at it might not be the best long term solution...lets take a look at your board...hmm...


MSI NF980-G65 Motherboard Review - Page 1 - Introduction & Specifications
















oooooooooooook


that looks like a fine cooling solution. if it gets that hot, not good. can you redo the thermal paste, well,crap thats underneath? hell maybe they havent peeled off the sticker thingies!


either or, unacceptable.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 02:29 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Gonna take'r apart tonight. change out the thermal paste and see whats what.

I didn't have much choice in the board, was in a bit of a bind with the EVGA going out on me.... gonna contact EVGA about an RMA on it asap, maybe get intel back.
which seems like a shame really, considering I have a 1055t heading my way.... might look into a crossfire board and see if there are any decent bios sli hacks ;)
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 02:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i hear the new beta is much easier to use. stil lwiating on a non native sli board to test it(properly) meself.

i say pick up a cheap dual pci-e amd board, 785/790 because of price.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible PSU issue? Bao Troubleshooting 13 October 1, 2010 08:40 AM
...So it's not a PSU issue.... BrainEater Troubleshooting 3 March 19, 2010 01:55 PM
Sounds like a PSU issue to me... BrainEater Troubleshooting 14 February 24, 2010 06:41 PM
Help!, PSU issue... xXxRithxXx Power Supplies 3 May 25, 2009 01:37 PM
PSU Cylcing Issue ChuckleBrother Troubleshooting 17 June 21, 2008 12:04 AM