Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 08:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Default Need some PC help

I have an old computer I was trying to fix for a friend and its getting that atidvag error.. I tried reinstalling driver and I even re formatted.. And now the VGA controller seems to be re installing itself over and over then I blue screen and re boot..

Specs are
cpu AMD 1800 Barton
MB Asus A7N8X
Radeon X800 256mb

So if anyone as any ideas it would be a huge help thx..:)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 09:11 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

See if you can plug the video card in another computer and if it work try ATI tools to test for artifacts. To me, the GPU just seems defective but maybe some other member will have more to add.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 09:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

howdy and welcome aboard.

is the fan spinning? the power connector plugged in?

could be heat, could be unstable voltages.

take a clean piece of paper, fold it in two and slowly clean the contacts on the agp connector. also look for missing/broken 'traces'. and also look in the agp connector, see if everything seems fine there(i.e. no dirt, broken off pins,etc)

else, upgrade time. or get a 9400 pci or such.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 09:43 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

the MB only supports 1 x AGP Pro/8X (1.5V only) slot, over an over seems card is gone or wrong gpu bios
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 09:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Would flashing the bios work?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 09:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if the card was working there before, its not a bios thing, i believe :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 10:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

do you have the correct driver for the card?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 11:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Default

I do.. I checked all the drivers.. I guess the atidvag thing was happening for awhile which gave him blue screens.. He had to keep rebooting his comp until it booted...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 04:55 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Drozzy whats your location ? any chance take a pic of video card (the caps)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 11:08 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
do you have the correct driver for the card?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drozzy View Post
I do.. I checked all the drivers..
which driver version are you using - specifically?

ie: Catalyst 9.3 last to support R500 and below

The ATI Catalyst 9.3 will be the last driver to provide a monthly driver update for graphics products predating the R6xx series. This includes the ATI Radeon X800 Series you are using.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drozzy View Post
Would flashing the bios work?
what BIOS version do you have?
What BIOS firmware is available?
What benefits are associated with the BIOS firmware available?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes