Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 01:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default XFX 780i Not detecting XFX GTS 250

Guyz suject says it all.

I was previously using 9800GTX+ on my mobo. yesterday i bought used gts 250 but the dam gpu is not working on my mobo. when i install it doenst give display and beeps like it dont have any gpu installed on it.
MSI 9800gtx+ was working very fine on my mobo and it still does, but gts 250 desn, the same card is working fine on my friend's mobo though.
what is this all about please some 1 help..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 01:54 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

First of all, welcome to HWC! I hope you will enjoy the place.
Now serious business.
Try to clear Cmos. Some board are sissy about hardware change.
After that if it still dosen't work, can you give us your complete system config?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 02:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

its more or less the same gpu, so it should work. does it work fine in another pc?


edit. ok so if it works in your frends pc then its weird.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 02:44 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Did you plug in the power to your GTS 250? Also, you shoulda kept your 9800GTX+
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 03:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

What motherboard are you using?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

He's using an xfx 780i.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 03:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
He's using an xfx 780i.
Heh... thanks.... I knew he had it listed up there somewhere, but I didn't see it in the text of the message.... :)

Have you tried the different slots? What power supply are you using?

edit: This is going to sound strange, but are you absolutely certain the card is seating properly? Reason I ask is that I've got an XFX 280GTX that absolutely will not seat properly on one of my external cases, while all other cards work fine. I ended up having to fold the card mounting lip back. Check the backplate to see if there is any room to loosen it up and move it up a bit.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 10:14 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

As mentioned earlier the first thing would be to make sure that the card works by trying it in a different pc, ie. your friends. Is that what you meant when you said
Quote:
the same card is working fine on my friend's mobo though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

System Specs:
XFX 780i Sli
PSU: CM slient Pro 600 Watts
CPU : E6500
3GB Kingston DDR2 800MHZ

and yes i did connected 6 pin power cable to GPU. its sitting fine in slot. Besides, could there be any issue with Mobo bios??? are these need to be updated if yes then how.
Pleas help :(
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
As mentioned earlier the first thing would be to make sure that the card works by trying it in a different pc, ie. your friends. Is that what you meant when you said
Yes my friend has an AMD mother board. it worked fine on that against my very own eyes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] XFX 780i for a X48 or P45 ||Console|| Buy/Sell & Trade 7 January 18, 2010 08:43 PM
[FS] P5Q-PRO/XFX 780i/EVGA 9800 GTX+/and more- DEALS! element291 Buy/Sell & Trade 11 March 9, 2009 10:30 AM
ASUS P5Q-PRO vs XFX 780i Tri Sli element291 CPU's and Motherboards 15 February 27, 2009 02:07 AM
[FS] XFX 780i 15eman Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 17, 2008 10:56 AM
XFX 780i drivers CD Wolfx25 CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 15, 2008 07:40 PM