Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 07:00 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 624

My System Specs

Default Need help with monitor config!!!

PROBLEM SOLVED!!!! :D :D :D





I need help here guys, as this is really pissing me off!!!

For the longest time, I have been running my monitor and TV off my graphics card. My monitor was plugged in using the DVI connector and my tv was plugged in with a DVI-to-HDMI Adapter. I would only turn on my tv whenever i wanted to watch any movies or shows I got stored on it.

Anyways, heres what used to happen. When my tv was off, it wasnt detected at all. The system acted as if only one monitor was plugged in, and when i turned on my tv, it would get detected and the desktop would get extended and the sound would come out from the tv.

now all of the sudden it dont work like that The computer thinks that there is two moonitors on constantly, even when my tv is off. Also, the audio dont come out of my headphones when the tv is off because of this problem EDIT: TV ISSUE IS FIXED!!! AUDIO DETECTION PROBLEM STILL EXISTS!!!

does anyone know: a) What im talking about and b) how to make it like it originally was?
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-

Last edited by Keltron 3030; September 18, 2010 at 08:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 12:18 AM
hedgehog88's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Default

May I ask what OS you're using?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 05:43 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 624

My System Specs

Default

Im runnin Vista home premium. It's also in my system specs

Also, I got my monitor problem solved, but the audio problem still exists
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-

Last edited by Keltron 3030; September 18, 2010 at 06:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 05:50 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,848

My System Specs

Default

my tv always gets detected even if my tv is off. not sure how you can fix this through dvi but pretty sure teh s-video out the back will work teh way you want it has been a long time since i did it this way but it work. hope it helps
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 06:10 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 624

My System Specs

Default

My TV situation is fixed now, but the audio is the problem instead. Will edit posts to suit
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 08:41 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 624

My System Specs

Default

Found out what the problem with the audio was, and let me say i feel like an idiot knowing how easy it was to find a solution

Turned out that my default speakers were my headphones. Changed the default to the TV and now it works!
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Config of Loop(s) 4DoorGTZ Water Cooling 16 October 21, 2008 09:50 PM
Help with ATI TV config 49-parallel HTPC Systems & Software 15 September 29, 2008 03:44 PM
Help With Km Player Config... 49-parallel HTPC Systems & Software 0 September 29, 2008 02:49 PM
HDD Config encorp Storage 9 April 27, 2008 11:52 AM