Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:14 PM
Airw4ves's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default New build finally done...now screen remains blank

Well I've just finished piecing together my new build, and when I went to it on, the machine starts up and everything, but I do not see anything on my screen. Now I checked, and re checked the cable placement, and that my video card in securely attached to the MB and that everything has been plugged in but with no change. I can see the menu on the monitor if I use the settings buttons on it, but its like the comp and the monitor are not communicating.
Any info would be a great help

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

howdy. first of all, plz do refresh our scarce memories about thine components, sir.

try another exit on the video card, make sure all cables(power) are plugged in.

do you hear the fans changing speeds after the initial vroom? if so itll be easy, i reccon
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:29 PM
Airw4ves's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

Ah yes, my apologies
Here you are

MB: Asus M4A87TD
CPU: AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 BE
VGA: eVGA GeForce GTX 275 896MB
RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance Sector 5 G Series DDR3 4GB (2 x 2GB)
PSU: 850watt Corsair
HDD: 500GB Seagate, 1TB Seagate
Case: Thermaltake Armour

I have noticed that my video cards fan is not running, would it be an issue with my power?
I attempted to unplug and re-plug them in but it did not seem to change anything

Last edited by Airw4ves; September 12, 2010 at 04:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok so all power cords are connected? 8 pin, 6 pin,etc?

how do the fans sound like? same speed from bootup or they change in speed?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:52 PM
Airw4ves's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airw4ves View Post

could you kindly plug the power for the cpu? :) that or plug the other 4 pin, if you just put the one 4 pin already
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:55 PM
Airw4ves's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

they are 6 pin, and the fan on my video card is not running

No funny sounds either
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 04:58 PM
Airw4ves's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

as for the CPU, I had to plug it in down there because there were no other areas for me to plug in my two radiator fans
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 05:01 PM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

No He meant, in your picture behind the rad, there is a blue connector. It has to be plug in
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 05:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok, first of all, have you plugged in the 8 pin power cable for the cpu? blue connector on mobo, top left corner in the picture.

and if the fan on your video card is not turning, something else may be bad with it as well. do you have another power supply? put it together on your table, in case there is a short(extra standoff forgotten by god?) :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filefront Remains Open!! SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 3, 2009 07:22 AM
Blank screen on boot? Matt Troubleshooting 0 January 22, 2009 03:57 PM
Need help with 3870X2 CFX blank screen issue! Killswitch Troubleshooting 13 September 15, 2008 07:06 PM
Monitor randomly going blank screen durdy Display Units 3 May 26, 2008 02:59 PM
Asrock 4coredual-vsta - blank screen josh_45 Troubleshooting 9 May 19, 2007 10:49 AM