Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default [SOLVED] Computer turned on 1st time, but will not turn on again.

Okay, so I ran into computer problems not long ago, and I thought it was the PSU that was the problem. So I RMA'd it (and then I learned how to properly test a PSU, but that's another story), so now I have a brand-spanking new PSU. Computer's still not working with this new PSU, I then decided it must be the motherboard, so I RMA'd it, and just received it back.

When I received it back today, I installed my components again. This is my rig, for the record:

1x Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 (just RMA'd)
1x AMD Phenom II 965 140W CPU (brand new)
2x 2GB DDR2 1066 RAM
1x nVidia Geforce 250 GTS
1x SATA 7200RPM 500GB WD HDD
1x Pioneer DVD-RW combo drive
1x OCZ 600W PSU (just RMA'd)
1x Antec P182SE computer case

So I plugged everything in, hit the power button and voila! It worked! I'm smiling and excited and then I get this BIOS option prompt about the HDD being in USB mode rather than SATA mode, and I miss hitting the right key in time, so I'm like okay I'll just power off and power on again and get it this time. So I powered it off, and hit the power button again, and this second time it would not power on.

I'm like wtf? Okay, I'll do some trouble-shooting. This is what I've tried,

Trouble-shooting steps:
1) I unplugged and replugged everything in.

2) I then thought, well maybe it's the darn PSU again. So I tested it (with the paper-clip method) and it powers a fan just fine. So it's not the PSU.

3) Then I thought, well maybe I am overloading the PSU (I am not according to online PSU calculators which tell me I am about 180W under-loading it, but maybe they're mistaken), I removed every component except the memory and CPU, but it still will not power on.

4) Then I'm like, okay maybe it is a faulty power switch on the case, so I tried wiring the reset button to the power pins on the motherboard (since they work fundamentally the same way, this would work in principle), but it still will not power on.

Am I missing anything here? If it's not the PSU, it's not the components that are plugged in, and it's not my case, musn't it be the motherboard? Is my motherboard just plain dead... again!?

Please help.

Last edited by tybeet; September 8, 2010 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 04:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,733

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried a cmos reset? Did you try turning off the power supply (unplug it if there's no switch) and then turning it back on (common requirement for incorrect memory/NB settings on PH II chips)?

What indication do you get when you try to power on? Do you get a momentary "burp" of power and then nothing, or do you get absolutely no indication of power at all?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 04:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure the Power and reset switches behaves the same way electrically. Use a flat head screwdriver and jump the 2 motherboard pins to start your computer. Otherwise, we'll have to dig deeper.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 04:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm not sure the Power and reset switches behaves the same way electrically.
They do. Unless both switches are broken, that's not the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 05:18 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

When you press power does nothing at all power on, like no fans or anything? Or does it actually seem like it is powering on, but you get nothing on your screen? If you have a mobo speaker attached do you get any beeps?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 05:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok so when you hit the button, nothing at all happens no fans going? nothing on the monitor is one thing, no 'movement' at all is quite bad. take it out the case, and do short it like above mentioned
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 05:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm. Short. Case short.

Take everything out of the case, and re-assemble on the motherboard box.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 06:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Hmmm. Short. Case short.

Take everything out of the case, and re-assemble on the motherboard box.
Ack! I found the culprit. It was a broken usb port on the front of the case, somehow it was causing a short, so I unplugged the front ports from the motherboard and it works! Ahh so happy.

Thanks for all the suggestions!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 06:32 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tybeet View Post
...and it works! Ahh so happy.

i think we all know the feeling
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 06:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,733

My System Specs

Default

Heh... it's amazing how many issues come up tied to USB related issues... fair bit of power flowing through them.

Glad to hear you found the issue. Happy computing!!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
computer , mobo , power , psu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a new computer for the first time! Anant New Builds 43 April 30, 2010 02:45 PM
Turned 50 Today! misterlarry Off Topic 32 December 18, 2009 05:21 PM
Dual Booting causing problems for the 1st time element291 Troubleshooting 5 May 15, 2009 05:47 PM
Turn Based vs. Real Time Strategy Games misterlarry Gaming 15 October 29, 2008 09:12 AM
E8400 and Rampage OC - 1st Time sbrown2410 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 16, 2008 08:12 AM