Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 08:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default how to install 12 volt power switches for PC

Hey gyuys, I am wondering how to exactly install a power switch for my computer that has blue illumination. I don't thing the power connectors themselves have a 12 volt current, do they? I'm no electrical guy and need to know for a small project i'm doing. thanks.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 08:01 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

There should be 2 connections. One connects the momentary switch to the mobo, and one will supply power to the LED.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 09:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yellow wires coming from the PSU provide +12V power. Like SugarJ said, there should be a separate power connector for the light, so connect that to the power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 02:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

ah, ok.i can do that. thanks guys,
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 05:56 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker~4.1 View Post
Hey gyuys, I am wondering how to exactly install a power switch for my computer that has blue illumination. I don't thing the power connectors themselves have a 12 volt current, do they? I'm no electrical guy and need to know for a small project i'm doing. thanks.
first what are you powering ? what are the spec's of the device? 12v + dc or 120v ~ ac

a led light would need to add a resistor for most are 3-5v DC and correct polarity

note: yel+blk= 12v and red+blk= 5v and yel+red= 7v from 4 wire molex plug

here's a handy tool for leds to calculate needed resistance
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; September 6, 2010 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2010, 04:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Its a 12 volt led power switch from performance-pc. (probably not getting it from there) but that graph is awesome.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2010, 04:40 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker~4.1 View Post
Its a 12 volt led power switch from performance-pc. (probably not getting it from there) but that graph is awesome.
Delrin Vandal Resistant Illuminated Switch 16mm Black - Blue Dot Products Model: VSW16-BK-DOT-BL [VSW16-BK-DOT-BL] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
I have used these from PerPC before as others have stated the switch will have 4 leads 2 for the "switch" 2 to power the LED, all 4 lead's, IDK if you are getting them prewired or not, connect to the motherboards headers.
The switch's LED is powered by the mobo's "power LED" pins.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 02:08 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

This is actually what my customer wants.

Rocker Switch - Black with Full Blue Lens Products Model: ROCKER-BLUE [ROCKER-BLUE] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 12:03 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You cannot use that as a power switch.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 01:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

What Zero is alluding to is that a CPU power switch is a momentary switch (only passes power as long as it's held down), while those rockers are like a light switch, always on or always off. Now if you're looking to control lights or fans, you need a Single Pole Single Throw switch like the rocker switch you linked.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about switches and routers Phobia Networking 2 September 19, 2009 09:53 AM
Switches and Terminal Blocks sinticfury Troubleshooting 3 June 22, 2009 10:11 PM
8800 GT Bios Volt Mod How to ?? Dashock Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 September 3, 2008 09:00 AM
Belkin KVM switches bobcat Peripherals 1 February 9, 2008 08:55 AM
8800GTS volt-mods????? bushwickbill Video Cards 1 September 23, 2007 05:20 AM