Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 03:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default Random Reboot's

Hi Everyone

I've been having issues recently with my recent build randomly restarting itself, no BSOD's, it does not seem to be triggered by anything in particular in terms of internet browsing gaming etc. However when I check event manager I see Kernel Power Error 41 63. I have tested both sticks of RAM on their own over a period of about 12 hours each and the system appears to be ok (using Windows Memory Diagnostic). The issue occured when both sticks were in. So it seems to me that the RAM isn't the issue. Cpu temps are all within limits.

Bad PSU?? Looking for some other opinions.

System Specs: (Primarily Gaming, Internet and School comp)

AMD Athlon II X4 635
Gigabyte M68M-S2P
4gb Kingston DDR2 ValueRAM KVR800D2N5K2/4G
ASUS ENGT 220
ASUS Quietrack DVD-RW
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500 GB 7200 rpm 16MB Buffer Serial ATA 3.5"
WD Caviar Green 1TB
Antec 200 (stock rear 120mm, stock 140mm, x2 Noctua NF-S12B, 1 Scythe Kaze-Jyuni "Slip Stream" 120mm)
Windows 7 64bit
CoolerMaster Elite 400W PSU

Any advice is much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 10:45 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hey dude.

the psu is not a top notch unit, but if everything is stock,in theory, it should be fine.

proper memory test would be a pass or more of memtest. do get ubcd, its got a few more utilities on it.

how do you check temps? i suggest everest. when you have everest open, load up prime95 aand see what gives. might want to run furmark for the videocard, although id run it separately from prime95.

you seem to have proper cooling in that antec.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Like Dan said (and Zero can confirm) your power supply isn't great but should be adequate enough. To 100% eliminate your RAM as the problem rum Memtest. First one stick at a time and then with both in. And check your temps with everest or hardware monitor just to be safe.

Oh yeah make sure your cpu fan is spinning. Had a Buddy recently who had random resets and that was the problem.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 02:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

I ran Prime95 and it showed no issues. CPU fan is ok but I'm going to replace the stock heatsink with something aftermarket anyways. As for the power supply I will be replacing that anyhow because I do want to upgrade the system in the future. So I just need to go run memtest and see how that goes.

On a side note after cleaning both sticks of ram and their mobo slots it seems to be running ok.


Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 02:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

first thing you should do is press F8 right after your BIOS boot screen, then turn off "REBOOT AFTER SYSTEM FAILURE" then when it fails again, you should actually GET a bsod screen, then you'll have oodles more info to work with.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 02:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I forgot to mention that I did turn off "reboot after system failure" and still no bsod's...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 02:50 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar issue a couple of weeks ago. Turned out to be the PSU. If it continues, that would be my first guess.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 02:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

all right. back to the psu. that should be the one.

275 watts on the 12v rail. at what temp[erature the psu is rated, thats another thing

but your system eats around 200 watts at load, i believe.

the load tests are quite good for a low end unit. plus its got overload protection, which might or not might be the cause of the reboots. i doubt it since it should just shut down, not reboot.

now the above looks like a winner, in its category/price range but if you look at the graphs, big nono. that could be the most probable cause.

or you got something else thats buggered :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 03:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Image links don't work =( all I saw was "image stolen unauthorized copy".
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 03:22 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

Long shot where you are not getting bsod's. BUT download "WhoCrashed". Run it. See if it can find any dumps to analyze and give you a hint at whats happening.

Like I said its along shot w/out a BSOD...but worth a shot.

Resplendence Software - WhoCrashed, automatic crash dump analyzer
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CANT REBOOT LAPTOP konflict Troubleshooting 5 August 30, 2010 07:14 PM
Random Reboot? NineLives Troubleshooting 11 July 11, 2010 11:04 AM
Need help: Reboot problem ModdKid Troubleshooting 13 August 17, 2009 06:50 PM
CD makes system reboot ipaine Troubleshooting 6 January 28, 2009 08:21 PM
reboot issues Jhayman Troubleshooting 7 January 23, 2008 05:00 AM