Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 10:12 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default Motherboard mounting problem (In Case)

Hey guys so i just built my first rig about 6 months ago in a mid-tower thermaltake element s and it never had any standoffs included in all the packaging and such.......so i never really thought much about it and installed the motherboard by just putting screws through the board and into the case because i assumed it was a standoff less design or something..... well the motherboard bends a little and not all the screws make it through (so i just didnt put them in) and i just recently looked it up online and the case is supposed to come with standoffs .....soooo i had this case for little over half a year with the motherboard improperly attached to the case...

anyways my question is are standoffs universal or are they specific to each case/manufacturer....how should i go about getting some


Thanks in advance for help and man i feel stupid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 10:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Contact Thermaltake tech support, tell them your case didn't come with standoffs, and ask them to send you some.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 10:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the part that screws in the tray/plate and the part where you screw in the screw that holds the mobo together can and will be different between cases. that being said ive seen a lot of cases that have the first thing pretty much the same.

id rather run it on my table with my bird flying over it every day than what you did. i commend your bravery man!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2010, 07:49 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Most likely there is 2 size of stand off. Sorter one and longer one depending on your case. Most of your local shop will sell you a bag for cheap. Try contacting TT but after 6 month's I am not sure they will do something. Make sure that your mobo is not to bendend and forced when you put these stand off later.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 10:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

the actual thread size of the standoffs are universal, so if you've got a crap case somewhere or a recycle place in town with old computer cases just grab a handful of standoffs from it and you are golden.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 10:59 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
the actual thread size of the standoffs are universal, so if you've got a crap case somewhere or a recycle place in town with old computer cases just grab a handful of standoffs from it and you are golden.
There are actually different sizes of standoffs, and some standoffs use different threads.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 03:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
There are actually different sizes of standoffs, and some standoffs use different threads.
ok let me reiterate; "Ive never come across" different sized standoffs, so chances are, any o'l standoff from any o'l crap unused computer box will "very likely" fit. but theres a chance that it might not, in which case find another crap unused computer box cause the chances of that happening twice are crazy low. ;D
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 03:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Most standoffs use #6-32 threading into the back plate, and accept the same screw into them. However, I have run into some metric standoffs and screws in el cheapo cases from overseas.
That being said, any local computer store should have a bunch if you can't get them from Thermaltake.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 03:30 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

my haf922 and cm690 have different treads on the standoffs, the haf922 are like the ones used on drives and the cm690 ones are the regular case treads. Damn all these treads are very confusing lol
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 03:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

el cheapo cases and Lian-Li cases, of all... they use metric stand-offs and screws.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange motherboard problem krajee Troubleshooting 2 July 30, 2010 02:48 PM
Mobo and case problem Scripter Troubleshooting 7 May 19, 2010 01:04 PM
Fan connecting to motherboard problem chang2 New Builds 4 September 13, 2009 04:46 PM
I think my motherboard is screwed how can I tell if that what is my problem? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 20, 2009 07:15 AM
Buildind the comp - Motherboard problem!? CactusJoe New Builds 19 November 20, 2008 04:51 PM