Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 14
Red face PC restarting in games

... And in the Nvidia nTune stability test.

New PC, here's the list of the hardware:

Intel C2D E6750 @ 2.66GHz
Asus P5K-E/Wifi
1 SATA 250GB Maxtor HDD
1 IDE 300 GB Samsung HDD
1 IDE DVD-RW
1 120MM FAN
1 EVGA 8800 GTS KO 640MB
Integrated sound card, network card, etc...
PSU is an ANTEC EARTHWATTS 430W.

I tried disconnecting the DVD-RW, and I managed to play the witcher for like 30 seconds before the PC restarted.
I made sure to disable auto-restarts in the system settings.

I'm thinking the issue is the PSU, even though everywhere I've read, max system usage with less items usually hovers around 300W with the 8800GTS.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 07:30 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default couple of questions

Is that sustained output for the psu or max. If it is max and the amps on the rails are lower than 28? or so then its probably the psu.

What about your memory- volts, timings? that could be a problem too, although the auto on that board seems pretty good.

Plus have you overclocked? There are some bios options that need to be disabled for stability. Ive just installed that board and cpu and posted a guide for it from the web in the oc section

Other than that are the temps good? use core temp or TAT for example with the cores stressed to really see if there are any temperature issues that may cause restarts.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 07:58 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

It's probably the PSU, the Antec NeoHe 430 had a hard time handling my current setup (with 4 HDDs, 7 fans, 6 usb components). You might want to borrow a PSU to test if this is really the problem?
__________________
Q6600 G0 @3.5ghz (Thermalright Ultra X 120)
Asus Maximus Formula 903
A-Data DDR 800 4 x 1gb, EVGA 8800GT SSC (Zalman VF900)
Antec NeoPower Blue 650W, Antec 900

HTPC: X2 64 5000+ Black @3.3ghz (AC 64 Pro)
A-Data DDR 800 2 x 1gb, Radeon 2600 Pro HDMI
Asus M2N-E, Antec Sonata, 380W TruePower


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 07:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 14
Default

I tried unhooking one of the HDDs and the DVD-RW. I got through the 10 min stress test, but the PC restarted after a few min into the game.

Magictorch, I did not oc anything. Here are some hardware details + links:

RAM = Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
NCIX.com - Buy Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - BL2KIT12864AA1065 In Canada.

Video card = EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS KO Quake Wars 540MHZ 640MB 1.7GHZ 112SP GDDR3 PCI-E DVI-I Video Card
NCIX.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS KO Quake Wars 540MHZ 640MB 1.7GHZ 112SP GDDR3 PCI-E DVI-I Video Card - 640-P2-N828-A1 In Canada.

The PSU specs are the following (Stolen from the antec website):

Output Table:

Output Voltage

Load Range

Reg.

Ripple

Noise

Min

Max

+5V

0.3A

20.0A

5%

50

50

+12V1

1.0A

17.0A

5%

120

120

+12V2

1.0A

17.0A

5%

120

120

-12V

0A

0.8A

10%

120

120

+5VSB

0A

2.5A

5%

50

50

+3.3V

0.5A

20.0A

5%

50

50


link is: Antec.com - EarthWatts

Temperatures seem to be fine. GPU is in the 60s on load, cpu in the 20s (Even though that seems to be a bit low), and mobo around 28-30C.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 08:10 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hash View Post
I tried unhooking one of the HDDs and the DVD-RW. I got through the 10 min stress test, but the PC restarted after a few min into the game.

Magictorch, I did not oc anything. Here are some hardware details + links:

RAM = Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
NCIX.com - Buy Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - BL2KIT12864AA1065 In Canada.

Video card = EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS KO Quake Wars 540MHZ 640MB 1.7GHZ 112SP GDDR3 PCI-E DVI-I Video Card
NCIX.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS KO Quake Wars 540MHZ 640MB 1.7GHZ 112SP GDDR3 PCI-E DVI-I Video Card - 640-P2-N828-A1 In Canada.

The PSU specs are the following (Stolen from the antec website):

Output Table:

Output Voltage

Load Range

Reg.

Ripple

Noise

Min

Max

+5V

0.3A

20.0A

5%

50

50

+12V1

1.0A

17.0A

5%

120

120

+12V2

1.0A

17.0A

5%

120

120

-12V

0A

0.8A

10%

120

120

+5VSB

0A

2.5A

5%

50

50

+3.3V

0.5A

20.0A

5%

50

50


link is: Antec.com - EarthWatts

Temperatures seem to be fine. GPU is in the 60s on load, cpu in the 20s (Even though that seems to be a bit low), and mobo around 28-30C.

Thanks.

omg dude yes its the psu u want at leas 28 amps on each rail. that diff psu problems my old 20 dollar unit for my p2 system had more amps than that lol. if u need psu options i have the corsair hx620w skymtl did review of it here i believe and it takes anything i throw at it, high price tag though i got on sale for 120 its at 160 atm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 08:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
omg dude yes its the psu u want at leas 28 amps on each rail. that diff psu problems my old 20 dollar unit for my p2 system had more amps than that lol. if u need psu options i have the corsair hx620w skymtl did review of it here i believe and it takes anything i throw at it, high price tag though i got on sale for 120 its at 160 atm.
[/color]
Are you saying that each of the 12V rails should have 28 amps, so that if there's 2, it's gonna be 28 amps + 28 amps? I don't think that works since the HX620 has 3 18A 12v rails.

Can anyone please explain to me how all this works? The 8800 GTS in question requires 26A or 28A on the 12v rails, so we can use that as an example.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 08:47 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default rails are fine

20oc in coretemp is low. mines 18 in TAT but 32 in coretemp, loads at 36-37oc.

The combined amps are fine. I think the psu total watts may be on the borderline with the 8800GTS. Although Ive heard people get warnings that their GPU is underpowered. Id get a more powerful GPU just so you can take advantage of the OC potential of your components anyway.

Do you have any other memory to rule the memory out as a problem? You do need to get the timing and volts right with that ram. Im not sure how the auto feature on your board handles it. The memory is supported by that board though. Do you have a memtest you can run?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; December 4, 2007 at 08:48 PM. Reason: e
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 09:09 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

By the numbers, the PSU is just fine, unless it's actually got something wrong with it. My own system can't break 400, even with the OCing and Q6600, and I was under the impression that those Earthwatts PSU's were good quality. (BTW, the HX520/HX620 are actually single rail models, they're just marketed as a multirail.)

Have you tried pulling up Task Manager and looking at your memory usage? It might suggest that some sort of memory leak occurring. Some memtest might not be a bad idea either.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 09:10 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

k im not solid on the whole psu thing but i agree that wats period are prob your downfall. get a nicer psu in my opinion. Maybe skymtl has some suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 09:20 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

How about first you disable automatic restarts and then give us the error message or blue screen text before you go and throw money at this problem.

Srsly folks, this marks the millionth time I've seen stuff like this on forums and everyone starts tossing out solutions without any real facts being said to actually help nail down the problem.

ooooo yeah, your case is Black right? I heard black cases absorb too much heat. you should buy a white case.:help:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Racing Games newmill Gaming 28 April 12, 2008 11:42 PM
PSP games bobletman Gaming 4 March 9, 2008 04:22 AM
Want to buy xbox 360 games!!!! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 28, 2008 08:00 PM
Too expensive to develop games now? magictorch Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 28, 2007 09:29 AM
7800gs keeps restarting my comp Crackdaddy31 Troubleshooting 4 November 26, 2007 06:07 PM