Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 20, 2010, 12:57 AM
Rookie

Default help needed in Toronto

I recently commissioned an SSD-based build (Vertex 2 60GB) from a guy I figured was capable of doing it. I have run into a bad problem. The rig is constantly having 'mini-hangs' where I click on this or that element of a GUI and it doesn't respond for 3-8 seconds. This happens with different programs. I see the little turquoise circle spinning and then the command executes. It always responds, eventually. There are other things going on as well which I will describe to you. I have posted threads at RFD, anandtech and at the OCZ forums and tried most fixes except flashing the mobo and the drive itself.

I have spent literally 25 hours trying to troubleshoot this problem and I am unable to do so. I'm an interested layman when it comes to computers and I enjoy Googling and doing little tweaks on my rigs when I have time. However, this is beyond me, and I have learned something. It seems to me that if a builder used to working with conventional hard drives thinks he can just throw an SSD into a rig and have it work perfectly, he has another think coming. I have spent way more time than I want to at the OCZ forums and it is clear to me that you need to be on the forums every day, literally, in order to remain caught up in terms of what is going on.