Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2010, 07:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default BSOD - Possibly Mobo or PSU?

So I'm experiencing the dreaded BSOD and I'm at a bit of a loss what's causing the problem.

Current setup:
AMD X2 555 BE @ stock speeds
Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5 (refurbished)
4GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
40GB Intel SSD V-series
500GB Seagate 7200.11 storage drive
Sapphire Vapor-x 5770
Fractal Design Tesla 650w PSU (manufactured by ATNG)

Starcraft 2 is a guaranteed crash within 20mins of playing. Sometimes it's a crash to desktop, sometime it's a BSOD. I've been getting random BSOD's as well, sometimes while browsing the net, sometimes while using iTunes.

I've tried to narrow down the issue. I've checked all my hardware to make sure it's all connected properly and the fans are working. Temperatures seem reasonable, around 40 cpu idle, 55 cpu stress. GPU around 50idle, 70 gaming, but 90 during Furmark. While running Furmark I didn't experience any crashes though.

Voltages seem ok. CPU ranges from 1.01 to 1.36 (think this is AMD cool n quiet, not sure though). +3.3V rail varies from 3.33 to 3.36. +12V rail varies from 12.25 to 12.32. These are values from Everest that I logged during regular use and through a BSOD.

I'm starting to think that it's either the motherboard or the PSU. While the voltages seem reasonable, is it possible that ripple/regulation is causing the issues?

I've never been able to stably overclock the CPU at all, which again could be the motherboard or PSU. The chip will unlock to 4 cores and run for a few days, but will crash. I haven't had any luck just overclocking on 2 cores by upping the multiplier.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2010, 08:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you aren't experiencing any issues while stress-testing then I'm inclined to believe it's a software issue. I don't know what CPU stress test you used, but Furmark will certainly put more of a load on your PSU than gaming would, so that possibility is ruled out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2010, 08:29 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Run Memtest for 12 hours and see if it finds any errors.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 04:21 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

bad HDD cable or loose power connector
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 06:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Make sure you have proper voltage on RAM. Then run Memtest.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 06:45 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if prime95 is stable as well while looping 3dmark and such in the background? software,probably

interesting choice of psu :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 07:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
if prime95 is stable as well while looping 3dmark and such in the background? software,probably

interesting choice of psu :)
It was a package deal from Mattlef to match the Fractal Design Refine 2 case. Figured it was better than my OCZ modXstream 600w, but now I'm not so sure.

I've ran memtest for about an hour, should probably run it longer. I'll give that a try, as well as prime95 and 3dmark. That sounds like it would crash a healthy computer though, haha.

If all that works, I'll just reinstall the OS (Win 7 64bit).

It takes a ridiculous amount of time to track down computer problems. ugh
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 07:29 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

meh, when in doubt i pop open everest, nothingthere prime....if it doesnt crash and or heat up real quick i go for furmark, if nothing yet just to make sure lazily reboot and leave memtest do its thing

now, any and all errors are bad, but one in so many passes doesnt explain your crashes :)

hell i got a puter that will fold day and night but crash prime almost imediately
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 09:57 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunt View Post
Figured it was better than my OCZ modXstream 600w, but now I'm not so sure.
It is better.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 02:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Have you tried running with a clean boot to eliminate software issues?

How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] PSU and Mobo arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2009 10:03 PM
WTB - Mobo, video card, psu Kayen Buy/Sell & Trade 4 October 26, 2008 09:39 AM
possibly a dead mobo Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 6 July 23, 2008 09:19 PM
Several bsod .. I blame my PSU suprez O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 June 17, 2008 12:43 PM
XP Pro BSOD while boot with new mobo SugarJ Troubleshooting 10 April 16, 2008 07:32 PM