Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 02:49 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default verifying dmi pool data?

hello all.
I recently purchased a new motherboard (a DFI 790FX-MR2) and seem to be having some troubles getting windows 7 up and running.

Everything booted fine, and I was able to begin the process of installing windows 7, but after the 2nd reboot during install, it hangs at the screen where it says "verifying dmi pool data" (sometimes followed by 'backup CMOS...OK!')

I tried the following things:
-tried installing windows 7 on two different HDDs (both SATA)
-ensured all cables/power connectors were inserted properly
-tried using two different psu's (noticed one sata power connector was slightly damaged on the 1st psu I had tried)

I messed with a few bios settings, but wasn't really sure what might help (nothing I tried worked)...I am thinking that flashing the bios to the most recent version may solve the problem, but I wanted to post here first to get some input.

Last edited by Socrates_Johnston; August 16, 2010 at 07:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 02:52 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

That is a bios issue, nothing to do with any os. Flash the bios. Dmi pool data is basically enumerating all your hardware. You can try and unplug some stuff like hard disks and sound cards and see if it boots.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 02:54 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
That is a bios issue, nothing to do with any os. Flash the bios. Dmi pool data is basically enumerating all your hardware. You can try and unplug some stuff like hard disks and sound cards and see if it boots.
will do.

right now I only have the essentials plugged in (RAM, HDD, videocard, CPU.... I removed the CD-drive to try to isolate the problem)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 03:00 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I had this issue today actually. Make sure in your bios that your OS hard drive is your first boot medium otherwise it will hang forever (i noticed you have 2 hard drives)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 03:03 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Try the following one at a time in this order:

1) Clear CMOS
2) Flash latest BIOS
3) Remove 1 stick of memory

If none of that works let us know
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 03:08 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I had this issue today actually. Make sure in your bios that your OS hard drive is your first boot medium otherwise it will hang forever (i noticed you have 2 hard drives)
I only have 1 hard drive attached at the moment, and it is second in the boot order behind 'removable'... changing it to 1st doesn't do anything.

as of right now I am having a hard time navigating the DFI site to download their bios flashing utility... "bios secure version 0003"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 05:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

follow instructions to the T on flashing bios also note if do a cmos reset REMOVE POWER CORD when jumpering clear bios
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 06:19 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

how do I go about making a USB boot disk that emulates a floppy? I don't have a floppy drive/discs and the easiest way to flash the bios is using a floppy....unless there is a method i missed. The DFI website is truely terrible, observe:

DFI LANParty:The Best OC Platform! Overclock, Motherboard, Intel, AMD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 06:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

before you do flash bioses go about disabling stuff in bios, put cd first, hdd,like above.

bios flashing is the last thing you do, that boards probably not under warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 07:13 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

if I were to flash the bios, would it be safest for me to buy a floppy drive/disk to do it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HWC Hockey Pool 09-10 Eldonko Hockey 284 October 7, 2010 02:49 PM
HWC 2010 Playoff Pool Eldonko Hockey 22 April 21, 2010 11:31 PM
Hangs at Verifying DMI Pool Data? Goalieman077 Troubleshooting 10 January 30, 2010 10:21 PM
STUCK at "update new data to dmi" somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 4 November 9, 2009 10:31 AM
HWC Hockey Pool!!!! Eldonko Hockey 271 September 28, 2009 09:57 AM