Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 11:29 PM
dnl dnl is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default What's wrong with my computer? Mobo problem?

Hey, so my new hp desktop is brand new at a little more than 1 week old. I installed a new psu and gpu about 3 days after I got it in order to play starcraft 2 and for a few days it worked blissfully.

Then when I restarted my computer the other day (after installing windows updates), I got the BSOD. It restarted and worked for a few minutes, then BSOD happened again.

I tried using system restore to before the updates, but it still would BSOD after a few minutes.

The BSoD were really varied sometimes being
irql not less or equal
page fault in nonpaged area

So I said screwit and just restored the computer to factory settings, since its only a week old. BSoDs STILL happen randomly. Especially when running many large processes. Also, programs would randomly crash (like internet explorer)

I reinstalled the old PSU and GPU and no result.
I also ran windows memory diagnostic and chkdsk on my hard drive.

other things I've noticed are the computer sometimes making a low click sound that didn't happen before, and it takes a split second longer to respond (like clicking on links, opening menus takes longer)

I'm guessing its a mobo problem but does anyone know anything else I could do before I contact the worst customer service company in the history of companies? (hp)



Specs:
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-341f
OS: Windows 7 Home 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1035T 2.6 GHz
Mobo: Foxconn H-RS780-uATX (HP Aloe-GL8E)
RAM: 6 GB DDR3
Hard Drive: 1 TB SATA 3G (3.0 Gb/sec) 7200 rpm
PSU: 300W (replaced with Cooler master elite 460w, then switched back)
GPU: Radeon HD 5450 (replaced with Sapphire Radeon HD 5770, then switched back)

Last edited by dnl; August 12, 2010 at 11:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 11:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

click, split longer could be the drive

more specs/upgraded specs would help

the only way to properly test ram would be by memtest at boot, prime95 as a system(non gpu) stresstest

look up voltage and of course temp readings with everest


edit : if you test it and find x is bad, they are easy to deal with rma wise.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 11:46 PM
dnl dnl is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default

added the specs to the original post
I'll try memtest right now
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 11:51 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Don't upgrade a HP they self destruct.

Otherwise.. its really hard to say what could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 12:06 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what is the brand of the stock psu. delta?

cm460 is not a great or even good product, but for a 5770 it shouldnt matter.

what type of drives?

hit up hdtune and see if it sees anything wrong. yellow or worse red = bad


edit : HP Pavilion Elite HPE-341f Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Pavilion Elite HPE-341f Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

do get the p/n on the psu but right now it looks like the drive.i think.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 02:57 AM
dnl dnl is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default

memtest reported no errors... but I did get a bsod after i restarted when it was done. It was 0x0000000007 or something

cm460 may have been a mistake (it was cheap and looked less ghetto than the power up! psu i saw at tiger direct) possibly it damaged something?

here is the hdtune benchmark ss
i'm doing the error scan right now

i'll get on the other tests tomorrow and find out the stock psu
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 08:23 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Run the "Error Scan" on that drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 08:43 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

How about telling your computer (if you haven't done it alrdy) not to restart when a BSOD happens in windows? The full error code can actually be helpful in pointing you/us in the right direction. Or posting the mini dump log.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 03:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how about the health tab? click that :)

300w is pretty low, but knowing hp/compaq/dell machines they come with some strong little buggers.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 03:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
how about the health tab? click that :)

300w is pretty low, but knowing hp/compaq/dell machines they come with some strong little buggers.
Uh pull your head out of your ass.

Nothing in a HP/Compaq/Dell machine is strong.

Their power supplies and motherboards are utter pieces of crap.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo and case problem Scripter Troubleshooting 7 May 19, 2010 01:04 PM
memory or mobo problem kanganova Troubleshooting 8 January 26, 2010 03:17 PM
computer picking up wrong ram timing Tiger RAM 8 September 17, 2009 07:22 AM
Problem with Computer mailaw Troubleshooting 5 March 8, 2009 12:22 PM
Computer problem Kyure Troubleshooting 4 December 24, 2008 03:34 PM