Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 08:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 171
Default Evga x58 SLI ff error code - Please help

I just got my new parts. A i7 920, 3x2gb ddr3 ram and a evga x58 sli 758 motherboard. I've tried everything and I keep getting an FF error. However, one time it did boot up to a 7f which was just like hit f1 or delete to continue. But now I'm getting constant FF errors and I reinstalled the cpu multiple times, reseated the heatsink. I know the video card works it's a 4890 and I tried using 1 stick of ram, 2 sticks of ram and 3 sticks of ram. But it still doesn't work.

Any ideas?

Last edited by Flintblade; August 12, 2010 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 08:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Reset the BIOS? Try using the RAM in the other set of slots?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 08:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

try safe mode if you can get in there. then do an update forward or backward. no go, rma?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 08:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
try safe mode if you can get in there. then do an update forward or backward. no go, rma?
It's a little hard to get into Safe Mode if the computer won't even POST, but of course you didn't know that it doesn't POST since you didn't bother to actually read the thread. Thanks for yet another useless comment.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 09:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,819

My System Specs

Default

FF means the board has completed POST successfully.

When you power the board on can you tell us what it says before FF?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 09:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
FF means the board has completed POST successfully.
If it's halting on a POST error then the board did not POST successfully...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 09:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
If it's halting on a POST error then the board did not POST successfully...
That's correct. The board is not posting. I'm getting an FF error which shows up on the board. I tried moving 1 stick of ram to all 6 slots and I did try resetting the cmos by removing the battery for 5mins and also hitting the reset button. It's still not working.

I'm 100% certain this is a dead board. I purchased it from crossfire2009 and he said he won't refund but only help with the RMA process. I don't want to wait like 3 weeks for the board.

Last edited by Flintblade; August 12, 2010 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 09:58 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

I can't say I would refund anyone either. Any of the stuff I've sold has never had warranty of any kind and is still in use today.

Perhaps he never tested it before he sold it because he didn't have the other components needed in order to test it? Why would a company RMA him a dead board anyway?

Perhaps you mishandled it?

Doesn't matter. Let's just get it fixed....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 10:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I can't say I would refund anyone either. Any of the stuff I've sold has never had warranty of any kind and is still in use today.

Perhaps he never tested it before he sold it because he didn't have the other components needed in order to test it? Why would a company RMA him a dead board anyway?

Perhaps you mishandled it?

Doesn't matter. Let's just get it fixed....

That's all I want is for it to be fixed. However, ive always offered refunds on DOA items. You can't blame the buyer if it's DOA. I didn't mishandle the board. He shipped it outside of a static bag and i tossed on a wrist strap and laid it down on a anti static bag that I had. I'm very good with my stuff and this is the first dead computer component i've ever dealt with.

Anyways, let's get some suggestions on how to fix this. I don't want to have to do an RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 10:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

oh,ok.

if you already did the bios thing, and the board doesnt show anything damage wise, then leave it overnight or try other rams?

if i were to chose between a used but tested board and a brand new in box id go for the tested unit.

let me check with cross.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Bye ASRock x58 Extreme Hello EVGA x58 SLI :) BIGFREAK CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 4, 2010 10:40 AM
i7 920 on an eVGA X58 SLI LE Mobo Dwayne Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 August 24, 2009 12:02 PM
About the eVGA X58 Sli mobo SquattingDawg CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 11, 2009 09:51 AM
Dark Knight + EVGA X58 X3 SLI derrXIII CPU's and Motherboards 0 May 5, 2009 05:34 PM
VR-Zone & EVGA Forums - EVGA X58 SLI Classified - NF200 Monster! zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 26 March 19, 2009 06:05 PM