Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 12:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default BFG 260 won't Load up on my DFI p35 lanparty mb

I bought a BFG 260 from someone on the board here . I installed it on my DFI lanparty dk Motherboard and booted up but nothing the monitor wouldn't even come out of the sleep mode ( I think that is what it is called), I then reset the cmos ( pulled the battery off of the mother board then replaced it) but still the same thing happened . the fan spins on the card , so I thought that maybe there was a problem with the Video card. I then opened up my main PC installed it on that board and it works so the problem isn't the card but must be the DFI mother board. on the DFI I can run my 3870x2 without any problems and the PSU that I am using is a seasonic 850 so I am doubting that it is a psu problem.

does anyone have any thoughts on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 12:08 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Incompatible PCI-E slot with 2.0 cards?

It was a bit of an issue in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 12:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,781

My System Specs

Default

Upgrade bios perhaps? Use a different PCIe power connector?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 01:39 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I updated the Bios and still the same. I am thinking that it just doesn't like my board. Now I am thinking that if it would be a waste to install it on my cross fire board which has my 285 installed
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 02:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

interesting. swap the 285 in, look at the pins on the mobo and bfg.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 02:26 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Has to be something with compatibility if the AMD card works fine. Strange indeed.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 02:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if the 285 fits..err..works then its a picky card/mobo.

its an older chipset, but i dont recall having issues with gt200 on my dfi infinity dark..got to look up some benches from back then
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI Launches Single P55 Motherboard, DFI LANParty DK P55-T3eH9 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 September 9, 2009 03:46 PM
Bought new mother board but it won't post with my BFG 260 216 core Shadowmeph Video Cards 18 August 20, 2009 10:45 AM
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D Won't Power Up FiveNines Troubleshooting 9 June 12, 2009 09:25 PM
FS: DFI Lanparty UT P35-T2R (Edmonton area only) -n7- Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 31, 2008 05:48 AM
DFI is BACK!!! 632fsb done on DFI P35 T2R by Oskar Eldonko CPU's and Motherboards 14 June 21, 2007 10:40 AM