Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 02:31 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default Printer going crazy?

Hey guys! My father just call me from the shop, they have a printer that is going crazy but I have no idea where this can come from. It's a HP laserjet printer but I have to take a look for the model. Well, it does print for sure, but when you send a page to print ( even a test page ) it will print it again and again till it ran ou of paper or ink. Already tried re-installing the driver but other then that I have no idea since every computer on the network with any software used to this. The printer is actually on a windows server 2008 connected to a network of about 50 computer. If you already saw that and know how to fix it please tell me how.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 02:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Ask your Dad if he was watching the movie Maximum Overdrive when it originally happened....

Seriously though anything else on his PC act "funny"?
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 02:53 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Ask your Dad if he was watching the movie Maximum Overdrive when it originally happened....

Seriously though anything else on his PC act "funny"?
Nop, I take the computer from here for a few minut in remote and everything is going fine with the computer. And the network look clean also.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 03:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

sounds like the printer spool is getting ****** up.

i'd re-install drivers for the printers.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 03:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,468

My System Specs

Default

Can you test it off of the network? If it's still doing it when hooked up to a single PC, you might be having problems with the printer's onboard buffer/spool. If it works fine, start looking at the software on the network.

Since this is a networked printer... does it exhibit the same problem when printing from more than one PC, or is it just the one PC that's doing it?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2010, 06:23 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Can you test it off of the network? If it's still doing it when hooked up to a single PC, you might be having problems with the printer's onboard buffer/spool. If it works fine, start looking at the software on the network.

Since this is a networked printer... does it exhibit the same problem when printing from more than one PC, or is it just the one PC that's doing it?
From every computer on the network. Also tried the printer on the server directly and still having the same issue. You guys might be correct the spool is probably going out...not surprising it's a common issue with HP I serisouly hate their printer.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please tell me I'm not crazy Z Overlord Gaming 1 July 24, 2010 12:36 AM
Laser printer CactusJoe New Builds 5 September 1, 2009 05:12 PM
Need to get a Printer Hillsdale Peripherals 7 September 2, 2008 03:30 AM
How to choose a Quality Printer and Printer Cartridge!!!! inkdomain Storage 3 July 31, 2008 03:10 PM
New Printer Jmac Peripherals 2 July 3, 2008 04:37 PM