Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 11:27 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default HDD Start

So i started my computer the morning and heard a ticking nose come out of it then the Windows boot manager came up i think my hard drive is going on me how could this be? I bought it like 4 months ago from NCIX. What should i do its still working as of now.
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 11:34 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,629

My System Specs

Default

Hardware does fail from time to time. Best thing to do now is to back up anything you can't afford to lose while the drive is still working. If the HDD is "ticking" or "clicking" on bootup, it's more than likely on the way out and you should probably start the RMA process.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 11:53 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Let me guess- a seagate barracuda 500GB?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 11:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Let me guess- a seagate barracuda 500GB?

Bingo that is it! So what to do?
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 12:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,629

My System Specs

Default

Back up what you can't afford to lose, and then contact NCIX first about RMA. Not sure if they cover HDDs for the first year, but worth a try before contacting Seagate.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 12:17 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yes the version 11 of those HDs had a bad firmware and they failed in droves- you need to RMA to seagate most likely. I've done two of them already. The RMA is quick, but the packing requirements are stringent. I don't think you need to follow the packing specs to a tee though- just make sure it's secure.

If you can back it up, do so ASAP because it will definitely fail.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 12:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Let me guess- a seagate barracuda 500GB?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Yes the version 11 of those HDs had a bad firmware and they failed in droves- you need to RMA to seagate most likely. I've done two of them already. The RMA is quick, but the packing requirements are stringent. I don't think you need to follow the packing specs to a tee though- just make sure it's secure.

If you can back it up, do so ASAP because it will definitely fail.
Lets get this straight now.. Those drives only had issues in the last quarter of 09 and it was only a few months. The 500s were not near as plauged as the TB drives were and had FAR fewer problems.

The 500s are a good drive just some did end up having a few problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 12:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Yes the version 11 of those HDs had a bad firmware and they failed in droves- you need to RMA to seagate most likely. I've done two of them already. The RMA is quick, but the packing requirements are stringent. I don't think you need to follow the packing specs to a tee though- just make sure it's secure.

If you can back it up, do so ASAP because it will definitely fail.

I have version 12 (Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA2 3.5IN 8.5MS 7200RPM 16MB Hard Drive OEM *3YR MFR Warranty*) but this is werid backing up stuff now.
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 01:59 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Firmware problem fixed but the .12 drive are not reliable like the old PATA were. Actually seagate is a bit off the game. Back up everything and send it to seagete. They will replace it with a recertified one if it's doing to much noise or if you have error code using their test tools.
GL
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 02:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Firmware problem fixed but the .12 drive are not reliable like the old PATA were. Actually seagate is a bit off the game. Back up everything and send it to seagete. They will replace it with a recertified one if it's doing to much noise or if you have error code using their test tools.
GL
I see eh firmware problem fixed eh?
__________________
New Rig FTW
E7400 @ 2.8 GHZ
HD4650 PowerCooler
600W PSU OCZ
GIGABYTE MOBO
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start FAH, Stop FAH, Start FAH, FREEZE! frontier204 Troubleshooting 5 June 23, 2013 09:02 AM
So..where do i start..? emxc2 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 September 5, 2009 09:57 PM
A few last questions before I start up... Barber Water Cooling 26 March 23, 2009 10:14 AM
About to start RainMaker New Builds 5 January 16, 2009 12:02 PM
Pc Start up Problem JuggsJr Troubleshooting 5 November 26, 2007 07:04 PM