Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 09:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default Computer wont boot/cmos - New build

Hey guys,

Just got my components for my pc today and im putting it together, and I can't for the life of me get it to boot.

When I push the power button,(This all happens in 1/2 second) A red LED flashes once (top right of mobo), I see my fans/cpu fan attempt to spin, the fan LED comes on, then they both stop and the mobo has a amber and green light that come and stay on. If I turn the power off it does the same thing when I try and boot again. Harddrives dont try and spin or anything.

Oh, the gren and amber light that stay on - are right beside the ram.

Specs:

Haf 932 case
Intel 930 CPU
Sapphire 5970
Corsair 850tx psu
6gb patriot ddr3 ram
Gigabyte X58 UD3R mobo

Just as a list of what I have connected...

ATX (2x3pin)power connector (beside cpu to the left)
ATX (2x12) main power
CPU fan
USB 1,2,3 (bot of case)

2 power connections for the 5970 (1 6pin, 1 6pin +2pin)

2 harddrives, via sata

1 dvd drive via sata

Front panel switch/led connectors

Fans (using 3pin connectors, not molex)

Been fighting with this for awhile. The store I bought everything from mounted the cpu/cpucooler to the board - so as far as I can tell they are good. Any idea what I might be doing wrong here?

Thanks,

Shay
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 10:28 PM
hedgehog88's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 26
Default

Have you tried clearing the CMOS? Take out the battery, give it a minute and reinsert it. Try that as it seems like they're something interfering with the settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 10:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

I have a Clear CMOS button on the backpanel - it DOES light up blue when the PSU is turned on. Will holding that down be sufficient?


EDIT: So I used the Clear CMOS button, and still same thing when I tried to power it on again. Also removed the battery, and put it back in - Same thing.

Any other ideas guys?

Last edited by DocShay; July 16, 2010 at 10:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 10:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

can you put another vid card in? try one stick of ram at a time


hmm


if cpu etc were reseated properly, just put it together on thine wooden table and see.

not having parts to test..hold on a sec, did teh store just cram it together or tested it? there mayeb be a short somewhere :shifty:
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 11:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Aha! Pulled mobo from case and placed on antistatic package it came in.

Booted up!

Now, I guess that means theres a short somewhere when its mounted - Any idea how to fix this?

I put in all the mounting screws (the ones with screw holes in them), put mobo on them, then put the screws in. I thought for some reason mobos had plastic spacers, but I never got any.

Well, progress at least!Any suggestions on how to find this short?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 11:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Found the issue, and I get the distinct feeling i'm very lucky I didnt fry my motherboard.

When I was putting in the placement screws the board sits on, I put one in everyhole without thinking. Turns out some of those are for micro atx boards. So when I put my mobo on top, some circuits were touching those since they didnt have screws in them because they were not meant for the board.

Sheesh I feel dumb, thankfully the mobo is smart enough to power off.

Thanks for the help guys
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 12:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good that you have figured it out maite :)
now get that bad boy folding asap!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 07:22 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just in case...

Quote:
ATX (2x3pin)power connector (beside cpu to the left)
This connector is a 2x4pin. A 2x3pin connector is only used for VGA cards.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 07:29 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
now get that bad boy folding asap!
Good stability test for new builds..........
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 07:58 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DocShay View Post
Found the issue, and I get the distinct feeling i'm very lucky I didnt fry my motherboard.

When I was putting in the placement screws the board sits on, I put one in everyhole without thinking. Turns out some of those are for micro atx boards. So when I put my mobo on top, some circuits were touching those since they didnt have screws in them because they were not meant for the board.

Sheesh I feel dumb, thankfully the mobo is smart enough to power off.

Thanks for the help guys
It's all a learning experience. You're not the first one to do this, and I'm sure you won't be the last. ;)

Glad to hear that everything worked out in the end, and that everything seems to have survived intact.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
helpppp missing file. wont boot. hohohee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 88 July 29, 2009 08:03 AM
Graphics Card Wont Boot Rypto Troubleshooting 10 June 27, 2009 11:11 PM
Graphics Card Wont Boot Rypto New Builds 0 June 24, 2009 02:13 PM
computer wont boot, after making change in bios undacova Troubleshooting 5 June 3, 2009 12:02 AM
System Wont BOOT HELP!! howdid Troubleshooting 10 July 31, 2008 11:00 PM